Jump to content

Soul Source - A Rare and Northern Soul Online Affair
member photo

Who Is Hal And Archdd On Gemm

Started by Dave Thorley Dec 19 2008 08:07 PM
  •    8 replies to this topic
  • Please log in to reply

   #1 Dave Thorley

Dave Thorley

    Massive everywhere

  • member photo
  • Mint
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6332 posts

Posted 19 December 2008 - 08:07 PM



Anyone know anything about these 2 sellers on Gemm. They often appear on searches as having a title but always 10 times the price of anyone else. Surley they can't sell any of these records, or is this a clever scam to get people to offer them rare items for sale?????
"From the hard to find, to the just plain good"
www.topdogrecords.co.uk

Soul Source non-mint group adverts

   #2 boba

boba

  • member photo
  • Mint
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7768 posts

Posted 20 December 2008 - 05:28 AM

View PostDave Thorley, on Dec 19 08, 07:07 PM, said:

Anyone know anything about these 2 sellers on Gemm. They often appear on searches as having a title but always 10 times the price of anyone else. Surley they can't sell any of these records, or is this a clever scam to get people to offer them rare items for sale?????

clearly the same person but one said italy and one said france

   #3 Dave Thorley

Dave Thorley

    Massive everywhere

  • member photo
  • Mint
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6332 posts

Posted 20 December 2008 - 11:17 AM

View Postboba, on Dec 20 08, 04:28 AM, said:

clearly the same person but one said italy and one said france

Hi Mate

Very odd company though, their prices make me look cheap :whistling:
"From the hard to find, to the just plain good"
www.topdogrecords.co.uk

   #4 Kev Moore

Kev Moore

    Getting spins again

  • member photo
  • Mint
  • PipPipPip
  • 1915 posts

Posted 20 December 2008 - 11:22 AM

View PostDave Thorley, on Dec 19 08, 07:07 PM, said:

Anyone know anything about these 2 sellers on Gemm. They often appear on searches as having a title but always 10 times the price of anyone else. Surley they can't sell any of these records, or is this a clever scam to get people to offer them rare items for sale?????


talking of funny ones Dave, Thuds on ebay had a Howard Tate-'Have You Ever Had The Blues'-Turntable for Buy Now $200.

Don't know where they get their prices?
Kev :whistling:

angels without wings cannot fly

A Northern Soul Party Pt 4-at The Gopher Hole-El Paso-350-354 Old Street-Hoxton London EC1V 9NQ

Friday 18th May 2012

9pm-2am-£5 otd

Dj's-Tony Smith, Yann Vatiste, Kev Moore, Brian Baker

A Collectors Special-Quality Northern Classics/Rare/Underplayed


   #5 BIGSOULMAN

BIGSOULMAN

    BLT

  • member photo
  • Mint
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2380 posts

Posted 20 December 2008 - 11:27 AM

I actually emailed that archdd or whatever you call them when they had a cheapie for sale at about £100 odd over book price :whistling: , but never got a reply, I think they must live in cloud cuckoo land, if you go into their site the prices are mind boggling!

Lenny

   #6 Dave Thorley

Dave Thorley

    Massive everywhere

  • member photo
  • Mint
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6332 posts

Posted 20 December 2008 - 11:45 AM

View PostBIGSOULMAN, on Dec 20 08, 10:27 AM, said:

I actually emailed that archdd or whatever you call them when they had a cheapie for sale at about £100 odd over book price :ohmy: , but never got a reply, I think they must live in cloud cuckoo land, if you go into their site the prices are mind boggling!

Lenny

As anyone ever bought a record from them and recieved it?????
"From the hard to find, to the just plain good"
www.topdogrecords.co.uk

   #7 BIGSOULMAN

BIGSOULMAN

    BLT

  • member photo
  • Mint
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2380 posts

Posted 20 December 2008 - 11:49 AM

View PostDave Thorley, on Dec 20 08, 10:45 AM, said:

As anyone ever bought a record from them and recieved it?????


I cannot believe anyone in their right mind would pay their asking price for ANY record Dave, just remembered the record was Grant Smith--Thinkin About You

   #8 Sutty

Sutty

    goodbye Reggie!

  • member photo
  • Mint
  • PipPip
  • 530 posts

Posted 20 December 2008 - 12:17 PM

View PostDave Thorley, on Dec 19 08, 07:07 PM, said:

Anyone know anything about these 2 sellers on Gemm. They often appear on searches as having a title but always 10 times the price of anyone else. Surley they can't sell any of these records, or is this a clever scam to get people to offer them rare items for sale?????

It's a scam Dave, they don't have any records. All they have done is copy other peoples sales inventories and then advertise the same records for sale at a ludicrously high price. If anyone bites and places an order they buy the record from someone else then ship on at a vast profit, if they can't get a copy they say it's already sold. I can't believe Gemm still allow them on there but I suppose they will require some real proof that this is a con, and apart from asking to go round and see their non-existent collections, I can't see how they'll be able to prove anything.

Sadly, some people actually believe these are the correct prices records sell for, when they are just pie-in-the-sky nonsense!

ARCHDD has over a third of a million items for sale, but only has 23 feedbacks in over 5 years, so it can't be that lucrative, but I guess you only need a few people a year to bite and you've got a grand for doing nothing!

cheers and season's greetings

Paul
Click Here for the Essential Modern Soul forum
Records for sale on Discogs
avoid leaning away from the speaker and folding your arms which can be interpreted as a lack of interest

   #9 Dave Thorley

Dave Thorley

    Massive everywhere

  • member photo
  • Mint
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6332 posts

Posted 20 December 2008 - 05:15 PM

View PostSutty, on Dec 20 08, 11:17 AM, said:

It's a scam Dave, they don't have any records. All they have done is copy other peoples sales inventories and then advertise the same records for sale at a ludicrously high price. If anyone bites and places an order they buy the record from someone else then ship on at a vast profit, if they can't get a copy they say it's already sold. I can't believe Gemm still allow them on there but I suppose they will require some real proof that this is a con, and apart from asking to go round and see their non-existent collections, I can't see how they'll be able to prove anything.

Sadly, some people actually believe these are the correct prices records sell for, when they are just pie-in-the-sky nonsense!

ARCHDD has over a third of a million items for sale, but only has 23 feedbacks in over 5 years, so it can't be that lucrative, but I guess you only need a few people a year to bite and you've got a grand for doing nothing!

cheers and season's greetings

Paul

Hi Paul

Thanks for such an informative response. I did wonder if it was that sort of scam.

Have a great one and pass on mine and Malayka's best to that young Miles chappy.

Dave
"From the hard to find, to the just plain good"
www.topdogrecords.co.uk




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users