Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Al Wilson - New Kent Cd Out Now Searching for the Dolphins: the Complete Soul City Recordings and More


Kents got some new cd releases out, the first one that gets a highlight is a comp from a familar name

Al Wilson - Searching for the Dolphins: the Complete Soul City Recordings and More 1967-1971

Release notes clip below 

IIn The Basement magazine carries a Vinyl Spotlight feature, which look at twenty tracks from LPs not available on CD, and also picks one ‘special’ album to cover in its entirety. Way back in November 1998, in issue #8, the in-depth scrutiny was on all-time top-tenner, SEARCHING FOR THE DOLPHINS by Al Wilson. I summed up by saying “This set deserves like-for-like CD reissue, not least because my vinyl is worn out!” Well, it has taken a little over nine years for my wish to be granted but the wait has been worthwhile. I can wallow in Gene Page’s splendid arrangement of Fred Neil’s The Dolphins, interpreted by the magnificently rich vocals of Al Wilson and lovingly produced by Johnny Rivers for his own Soul City Records in pristine sound quality.

Born in Meridian, MS, in June 1939, Al Wilson settled in California after serving with Uncle Sam, singing in local clubs as a solo performer and working in a line-up of the Jewels, which subsequently became Liberty recording artists, the Rollers. Passing through Johnny “Legs” Harris & the Statesmen and its metamorphosis, the Soul Brothers (as the drummer) Al met up with ex-Motown staffer, Marc Gordon, manager of the Versatiles (who became 5th Dimension). He took that group, along with our man, off to the fledgling Soul City company. Al had to be patient with the label to get his first record released but, after a handful of 45s and chart success with Do What You Gotta Do and The Snake, the stunning “Searching For The Dolphins” album hit the streets.

Do What You Gotta Do, penned by staff-writer, Jim Webb,...

full release notes can be read on Ace records Site (link below)


1. Dolphins  

 2. By The Time I Get To Phoenix  

 3. I Stand Accused  

 4. Summer Rain  

 5. Do What You Gotta Do  

 6. Snake  

 7. Who Could Be Lovin' You (Other Than Me)  

 8. Poor Side Of Town  

 9. Shake Me Wake Me (When It's Over)  

 10. This Guy's In Love With You  

 11. Brother Where Are You  

 12. When You Love (You're Loved Too)  

 13. Now I Know What Love Is  

 14. Gettin' Ready For Tomorrow  

 15. Lodi  

 16. Sometimes A Man Must Cry  

 17. Mississippi Woman  

 18. You Do The Right Things  

 19. Bachelor Man  

 20. I Hear You Knocking  

 21. Sugar Kane Girl  

 22. Falling (In Love With You)


  1. 7 Day Lovers

  1. Article Comments

Members Comments

Recommended Comments

There are no comments to display.

Comment now!

Comments are members only

Sign Up

Join Soul Source - Free & easy!

Sign up now!

Sign in

Sign in here.

Sign in now!

Related Soul Music Links


Important Information

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.