Jump to content

Chuck Jackson - Big New York Soul: Wand Records 1961-1966

Followers 0
Chuck Jackson - Big New York Soul: Wand Records 1961-1966 magazine cover

Chuck Jackson - Big New York Soul - Wand Records 1961-1966

A new release from Kent records featuring Chuck Jackson Wand Records output. Including hits, alternates, favourites, previously unissued and new-to-CD Wand recordings.

Preview Listen 

A preview of the release notes by @ady croasdellfollows,  the full version can be read via the weblink below

We released the best of Chuck Jackson’s Wand recordings on “Good Things” (CDKEND 935) in 1990 and subsequently put out his eight Wand albums as four CD two-fers. A reassessment of the tapes from our Wand trawl of the mid-80s, along with more recent discoveries, means we are now able to issue a final CD of previously unreleased tracks and rarities. Of the eight previously unheard songs, highlights are the perky opener ‘Things Just Ain’t Right’, a tremendous cover of the Curtis Mayfield-written ‘Need To Belong’, originally covered by Jerry Butler, and ‘Anymore’, a duet with Dionne Warwick.

Also included are ‘Little By Little’, a great uptempo dancer previously available on the Kent LP “A Powerful Soul” in 1987, ‘The Silencer’, a secret agent-styled film theme released only on a 3CD set in the 90s, and a demo of ‘In Between Tears’ previously exclusive to another Kent LP. There are two very good B-sides, ‘For All Time’ and ‘And That’s Saying A Lot’, which have never appeared before on CD. Some collectors may know ‘And That’s Saying A Lot’ from Christine Perfect’s cover on her first solo LP. ‘Big New York’, which appeared on our deleted “In The Naked City” CD, is also included.


Track Listings

  1. Things Just Ain't Right
  2. Little By Little
  3. Hand It Over
  4. Big New York
  5. King of the Mountain
  6. Another Day
  7. Need to Belong
  8. For All Time
  9. If I Didn't Love You
  10. The Same Old Story
  11. Why Some People Don't Like Me
  12. Whatcha' Gonna Say Tomorrow
  13. I've Got to Be Strong
  14. The Silencer
  15. This Broken Heart That You Gave Me
  16. Meet Me Half Way
  17. And That's Saying a Lot
  18. Through My Tears
  19. Look Over Your Shoulder
  20. Getting Ready for the Heartbreak
  21. In Between Tears
  22. All About You
  23. Anymore
  24. Why






Members Comments

Recommended Comments

There are no comments to display.

Get involved with Soul Source

Add your comments now

Join Soul Source

A free & easy soul music affair!

Join Soul Source now!

Log in to Soul Source

Jump right back in!

Log in now!

  • Create New...

Important Information

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.