Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Freddie North - What Are You Doing To Me - The Complete A-Bet Recordings Plus 

Freddie North - What Are You Doing To Me - The Complete A-Bet Recordings Plus  cover

Here's the details about a most recent release from Kent Records.
Freddie North  - What Are You Doing To Me - The Complete A-Bet Recordings Plus 

Connected to the also very recent released Kent records  'Bob Holmes Nashvile Soul' release (see https://www.soul-source.co.uk/articles/news-soul/bob-holmes-nashville-soul-new-kent-records-releases-r3601/)  this releases concerns itself with the output of the Nashboro groupings 'Head of Promotions'  Mr Freddie North. And as the title tells the album brings together all of Freddies A-Bet records along with some 'plus' extra stuff. The 'plus' stuff including both unissued and also released Mankind label era recordings 


As always the booklet is up to the highest standard, as you can see below


Preview of Release notes

For almost 20 years Nashville-born Freddie North was a mainstay of Music City’s R&B and soul scenes. His warm, Jerry Butler-like baritone guaranteed him steady work as a demo singer and as a live performer. It also brought him releases on a number of labels – including University, Capitol, East West and Phillips International – before hooking up with Nashboro Records in 1965, where he combined his singing career with a position as the company’s Head Of Promotion.Over the next few years...

Tony Rounce


Full release notes along with photos and such can be had via the following Ace Records link



Track Listing...

01 Preview  Gotta Go Get Your Mommy (To Come Back Home)

02 Preview  Love To Hate

03 Preview  Rainy Night In Georgia

04 Preview  Thank That Woman

05 Preview  I Loved Another Woman

06 Preview  From The Blind Side

07 Preview  Sun Comes Up

08 Preview  Oh Lord, What Are You Doing To Me

09 Preview  I Have A Dream

10 Preview  Don't Make Me Look So Bad

11 Preview  (I've Got To) Hold Back

12 Preview  Running Back To You

13 Preview  Just Another Guy

14 Preview  A Long Hard Road

15 Preview  Follow The Lamb

16 Preview  You're Killing Me Slowly But Surely

17 Preview  Lovin' On Back Streets

18 Preview  Taking Her Love Ain't Gonna Be Easy

19 Preview  Til I Get It Right

20 Preview  Remember What I Told You To Forget

21 Preview  That's How Much You Mean To Me

22 Preview  My Whole World Ended (The Moment You Left Me)

23 Preview  Cuss The Wind


  1. 7 Day Lovers

  1. Article Comments

Forum Activity

Members Comments

Recommended Comments

Comment now!

Comments are members only

Sign Up

Join Soul Source - Free & easy!

Sign up now!

Sign in

Sign in here.

Sign in now!

Related Soul Music Links


Important Information

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.