Jump to content

Linda Jones - Precious - The Anthology 1963-72 Kent Records

Linda Jones - Precious - The Anthology 1963-72 Kent Records magazine cover

News and details about a recent release from Kent Record. Billed as 'The first career anthology of one of soul music’s most beloved female vocalists' this is a comp that if we ever had an album of the month slot on here then this would be a contender.

The opening paragraph of the release notes on Ace record websites by Tony Rounce set the scene...

Soul music has never had a singer with the extraordinary vocal power of New Jersey’s Linda Jones. Her arsenal of vocal shrieks, wails, passion, sanctity and full-on fire has enthralled soul fans since she burst onto the scene with her breakthrough hit ‘Hypnotized’ in 1967. Those who know and love her work will vociferously tell you she is, simply, the greatest female soul singer of all time. At the very least, she is up there with any of her internationally famous peers, yet her catalogue remains largely unrecognised outside of soul’s inner sanctum....

Details and previews follow below , 

Check out the Ace Records website link below for both purchase and full release notes

Juno Records Preview Player

Track Listings

  1. Hypnotized

  2. Lonely Teardrops

  3. I'm Taking Back My Love

  4. Take The Boy Out Of The Country

  5. Fugitive From Love

  6. You Hit Me Like Tnt

  7. Give My Love A Try

  8. A Last Minute Miracle

  9. What've I Done (To Make You Mad)

  10. My Heart Needs A Break

  11. That's When I'll Stop Loving You

  12. Just Can't Live My Life (Without You Baby)

  13. I'll Be Sweeter Tomorrow

  14. Can You Blame Me?

  15. Ooh Baby You Move Me

  16. I Do

  17. If Only We Had Met Sooner

  18. I Can't Make It Alone

  19. Stay With Me Forever

  20. Behold

  21. Not On The Outside

  22. I'm So Glad I Found You (with The Whatnauts)

  23. I've Given You The Best Years Of My Life

  24. Your Precious Love


Video Trailer




Ace Records Website Link - for full release notes and purchase options



Members Comments

Recommended Comments

There are no comments to display.

Get involved with Soul Source

Add your comments now

Join Soul Source

A free & easy soul music affair!

Join Soul Source now!

Log in to Soul Source

Jump right back in!

Log back in to Soul Source now!

Related Soul Music Links

  • Create New...

Important Information

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.