Jump to content

Los Angeles Soul Volume 2 - Kent Modern's Black Music Legacy 1963-1971

Los Angeles Soul Volume 2 - Kent Modern's Black Music Legacy 1963-1971 magazine cover

Los Angeles Soul Volume 2 - Kent Modern's Black Music Legacy 1963-1971 CDKEND 486

Spotlight falls on a recent release from Kent Records,  as the title says its a collection of 1960s and early 1970s tracks taken from Kent/Modern. 24 varied tracks making up this volume two. Details and previews follow below...


Los Angeles Soul Volume 2
Track listing

  1. I'll Be Standing By - Chuck Walker & The VIP's
  2. At Last - Jimmy Bee
  3. Hungry Children - Rudy Love & The Love Family
  4. Mighty Clouds of Joy - B.P.S. Revolution
  5. Honey - Felice Taylor
  6. Slow and Easy - Vernon Garrett
  7. Where She At - Z.Z. Hill
  8. Don't Believe Him - Stacy Johnson
  9. Nobody But Me - The Other Brothers
  10. Like I Do - Bobby John
  11. Whole World Down On You - Larry Davis
  12. It's Getting Late - Al King
  13. Jodine - Earl Foster
  14. Then I Found You - Rudy Love & The Love Family
  15. The Good Side of My Girl - Clay Hammond
  16. The Thought of You - Jeanette Jones
  17. You're Still My Baby - Venetta Fields
  18. Rock Me Baby - Millie Foster
  19. What Is This World Coming To - Charles Taylor
  20. What the Heck - Lowell Fulson
  21. Funky Duck - Four Tees
  22. I Need You (2nd Version) - Arthur K Adams
  23. Ghetto Child - Johnny Copeland
  24. Peace of Mind - Chuck Walker & The VIP's

Release Notes from Ace Records

Authentic, occasionally obscure, but always groovy, West Coast soul. Southern blues abounds, while gospel and Motown’s influence are also present.

Here are 25 more tracks from the deep reserves of Kent/Modern 60s and early 70s soul. The selection is a thorough cross-section of the company’s favoured stylings – blues, funk, straight soul, jazz-tinged ballads and deep wailers along with a handful of appropriate soul dancers for those with a pulse.

Prolific performers such as Z.Z. Hill, Johnny Copeland and Clay Hammond are alongside one-off 45 artists like Jeanette Jones, Earl Foster and Chuck Walker. Walker’s little-known deep soul ballads open and close the compilation and there are stunning slow soul performances from Jimmy Bee and Venetta Fields. Blues meets soul with Larry Davis, Al King, Lowell Fulson and Millie Foster, whose version of ‘Rock Me Baby’ is sensual and previously unissued.

Moody, early soul dance tracks come from Bobby John and the Other Brothers, while uptempo offerings are sung by Z.Z. Hill, Vernon Garrett and Stacy Johnson. The newly discovered ‘Honey’ by Felice Taylor was penned by Steve Cook and Charles Tate of ‘Too Darn Soulful’ fame and gospel choir BPS Revolution contribute a terrific, largely unknown, mid-tempo LP track. Funkateers will undoubtedly dig the Rudy Love, Charles Taylor and Four Tees sides.

The compilation features the type of music that LA’s black record buyers wanted in the soul era. The Biharis undoubtedly knew their market.

ADY CROASDELL @ady croasdell

Leaflet Images







This product is also available in these versions:
Los Angeles Soul Volume 2 - Kent-Modern's Black Music Legacy 1963-1972 (MP3), MP3 (£7.99)

More info, images and purchase options via Ace Records website

Source Magazine Comments



an interesting aspect of todays record industry is how recent comp releases are available legit so soon after release in full to listen via the likes of spotify


Source Magazine - Add Your Take!

Comment on our articles via...

Join Soul Source

A free & easy soul music affair!

Get started now!
Log into Soul Source

Get full use of the magazine feature

Log in now!

Related Soul Music Links

  • Create New...

Important Information

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.