Manhattan Soul Volume 3 - A New Kent Records release

Manhattan Soul Volume 3 - A New Kent Records release magazine cover

News and details concerning this just released Kent Records soul comp. Read and listen below

Manhattan Soul Volume 3 - Various Artists (Scepter/ Wand)

Preview via Juno Records Player


Preview release notes clip and track listing
These New York labels were at the inception of soul music and continued to release excellent tracks until the disco era.

Scepter/Wand and Musicor/Dynamo were quintessential New York soul labels. Their common link was Luther Dixon, who set Scepter on the right path with the Shirelles and followed up with success for Tommy Hunt, Chuck Jackson, Dionne Warwick and Maxine Brown. He split for Musicor in 1966 where he got the Platters, Tommy Hunt and Inez and Charlie Foxx back into the charts.

Over the years, our privileged position of accessing the labels’ tapes has enabled us to make many previously unissued recordings available. This CD alone features an unheard Chips Moman song from Helen Henry, the Shirelles’ take on Luther Dixon’s superb ‘Two Stupid Feet’, songwriter Van McCoy’s own interpretation of the Shirelles’ ‘What’s The Matter Baby’ and an R&B group sound from the Tabs. Earlier vault discoveries from Junior Lewis and Big Maybelle are given their first CD outing.

Track Listing:

  1. Open Up Your Heart (And Let Me In) - Dan & Clean Cuts
  2. Now That You're Gone - Sonny Turner And Sound Unlimited
  3. Haven't I Been Good To You - Johnny Moore
  4. Fun City Woman - Ann Bailey
  5. Nobody Made You Love Me - The Charts
  6. Billy Boy - Billy Adams
  7. That Same Old Song - The Fabulous Dinos
  8. Every Little Bit Helps - Helen Henry
  9. Two Stupid Feet - The Shirelles
  10. Lover - Tommy Hunt
  11. Giving Up - Junior Lewis
  12. A Part Of Me - Earl King
  13. Never In My Life - Lee Moses
  14. Nobody Knows - Maurice Williams
  15. Doesn't It Ring A Bell - The Platters
  16. How Could It Be - The Esquires
  17. Mr Schemer - Brenton Wood
  18. Ooh Baby - Harold Hopkins
  19. What's The Matter Baby - Van Mccoy
  20. The Landlord - The Tabs
  21. You Picked Me - The Soldier Boys
  22. Remind My Baby Of Me - Billy Byers
  23. Does Love Believe In Me - Melba Moore
  24. If I Had You - Big Maybelle


Full release notes by @ady croasdell and purchase options via


  1. 7 Day Lovers

  1. Article Comments

Forum Activity

Source Advert

Source Magazine Comments

There are no comments to display.

Source Magazine - Add Your Take!

Comment on our articles via...

Join Soul Source

A free & easy soul music affair!

Get started now!
Log into Soul Source

Get full use of the magazine feature

Log in now!

Related Soul Music Links

  • Create New...

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.