Jump to content

New Kent Cd - You Gave Me Reason To Live - Southern And Deep Soul From Louisiana - Out Now

New Kent Cd - You Gave Me Reason To Live - Southern And Deep Soul From Louisiana - Out Now magazine cover

Details of a recent album release from Kent

You Gave Me Reason To Live - Southern And Deep Soul From Louisiana - Various Artists CDKEND 501

A preview snippet of the release notes by Dean Rudland follows below..

A celebration of the exceptional music that can occur in the most out of the way places.

South-West Louisiana is rightly famous for its homegrown music: the Cajun sound and its black cousin Zydeco. However, situated between New Orleans and Houston, the region’s music industry was ideally placed to also record local versions of soul, country, funk, blues and pop. This compilation comprises high-quality southern soul which, due to where it was recorded, tends to have been previously overlooked.

The music here spans the early 60s, with artists such as Sticks Herman performing the local version of proto-soul, and the early 1970s, when the influence of Memphis soul could be heard in the voices of Johnny Truitt and Moody Scott. The existence of these recordings is down to record men such as Eddie Shuler, Carol Rachou and J.D. Miller capturing the local talent and touring musicians as they passed through their studios.

These recordings have an edge that suggests they were made outside of Southern Soul’s major recording centres, yet are....

Full release notes along with images and more can be viewed via the Ace Records website, link follows below.



Leaflet Previews





Track List

01  Baby Oh Baby (How Far You Are From Me) - Charles Greene
02  If There's A Will There's A Way - Ike Porter & The Fabulations
03  Without Love What Would Life Be - Terrie & Joy La Roy with The Bill Parker Show Band
04  Groove Maker - Dynamic Adam & His Excitements
05  Soul Woman - Camille "Lil" Bob
06  For The Good Times - Johnny Truitt
07  One Man's Happiness - Moody
08  Sea Of Love - Freddie Love
09  Our Love Will Always Be - Lee Bernard
10  Trust - Count Rockin' Sidney with the Dukes
11  Why Did I Let You Go - Chester Randle's Soul Senders
12  You Gave Me Reason To Live - Big Daddy Green
13  Love For Love, Heart For Heart - Ike Porter & The Fabulations
14  To Be Loved By You - Soul Shouting Tommy
15  Lonely Feeling - Sticks Herman
16  Big Boys Cry - Bobby Charles
17  If You Love Me - Clifton White & His Royal Knights
18  On Bended Knees Begging - Big Daddy Green
19  Why I Shed So Many Tears - Terrie & Joy La Roy with the Bill Parker Show Band
20  She's Gone - Dynamic Adam
21  Don't Drive Me Deeper (Into The Ground) - Lee Bernard
22  Blues For Men - King Carl


Album is out now via all the usual stockists (see above for the Ace Records website link)


Source Store Link

In stock and available to all members via our Source Store at £9.99, details via the link below



Listen: Sample #1

Listen: Sample #2

Members Comments

Recommended Comments

There are no comments to display.

Get involved with Soul Source

Add your comments now

Join Soul Source

A free & easy soul music affair!

Join Soul Source now!

Log in to Soul Source

Jump right back in!

Log in now!

Related Soul Music Links

  • Create New...

Important Information

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.