Jump to content

New: Mainstream Modern Soul 2 1969-1976 Kent Records

Followers 0
New: Mainstream Modern Soul 2 1969-1976 Kent Records magazine cover

Mainstream Modern Soul 2 1969-1976 Kent Records CDKEND 468

Just released a few days ago, this album sees Kent Records having a second go at the Mainstream family of Labels, with a sunshine cover the album looks and sounds like a perfect summer companion, titled Mainstream Modern Soul 2 1969-1976 Kent Records you can read and listen below...

Unwrapping Video

The Mainstream family of labels was a major source of black music through the early and mid-70s. Owner Bob Shad was primarily a jazz producer but had enough nous and appreciation of soul music to go with current trends. His in-house arrangers included veteran hit-maker Bert DeCoteaux, fellow jazzer Wade Marcus and the up-and-coming Patrick Adams.Adams’ production on Chapter Three’s ‘I’ll Never Be The Same’ is soul with an early disco beat, and Chocolate Syrup’s uptempo ‘You’ve Got A Lot To Give’ is of a similar ilk.

Mainstream had several great harmony vocal groups – Special Delivery, the Steptones and Eleventh Commandment all contribute excellent examples of the genre. ‘Oh My Love’, the rarely seen or heard flip of Almeta Lattimore’s ‘These Memories’, sounds equally haunting and is one of several great Detroit productions co-opted onto Mainstream. Others include McArthur’s very soulful ‘I’ll Never Trust Love Again’, Charles Beverly’s ‘Grass Ain’t Greener’ and the Steptones’ ‘Your Love Is Like The Rising Sun’. Charles Colbert is a mystery artist whose Mainstream tape of ‘Slow Down World’ debuts here, while Sugar Billy Garner recorded for the Fast Track subsidiary four years after his ....


more from @ady croasdell via


Listen to Mainstream Modern Soul 2 1969-1976 Kent Records via Juno Records #1 Preview Playe

Track Listing

1. Charles Beverly - "Grass Ain't Greener"

2. Randolph Brown & Company - "You Can Be Cured"

3. Special Delivery - "Come Back With Love" (part 1)

4. Chocolate Syrup - "You've Got A Lot To Give"

5. Chapter Three - "I'll Never Be The Same" (part 1)

6. Almeta Lattimore - "Oh My Love"

7. McArthur - "I'll Never Trust Love Again"

8. Lenny Welch - "When There's No Such Thing As Love (It's Over)"

9. Lee Bates - "Your Love Is Slipping Away"

10. Jeany Reynolds - "Please Don't Set Me Free"

11. Alice Clark - "Never Did I Stop Loving You"

12. Bobby Earl Williams - "Let Her Know"

13. Ellerine Harding - "I Know Something That You Don't Know"

14. Nia Johnson - "You Are The Spice Of My Life"

15. Count Willie With LRL & The Dukes - "I've Got To Tell You"

16. Lenny McDaniel & The Last Nikle - "I've Been Trying To Love You"

17. Sugar Billy - "Love Bug"

18. Calvin Arnold - "You'll Do It"

19. Eleventh Commandment - "Today Or Never"

20. Steptones - "Your Love Is Like The Rising Sun"

21. Terry Huff - "Where There's A Will (There's A Way)"

22. Charles Colbert - "Slow Down World"

23. Linda Perry - "Everyone Has Someone"


Can read the review of Vol 1 from last year here...




Members Comments

Recommended Comments

Get involved with Soul Source

Add your comments now

Join Soul Source

A free & easy soul music affair!

Join Soul Source now!

Log in to Soul Source

Jump right back in!

Log in now!

  • Create New...

Important Information

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.