Shades Of Soul - New Vinyl Lp - Charly Records

Shades Of Soul - New Vinyl Lp - Charly Records magazine cover

Easter weekend sees this fresh comp lp from Charly records out on the streets. Titled 'Shades Of Soul' with a underbite of 'Crossover And Modern Soul Grooves' this album concerns itself more with all things crossover and is the most recent release from Charly records under their 'Club Soul' series. Available in a vinyl double lp format only.

Details and blurbs and such follow below...

Crossover And Modern Soul Grooves

“Crossover… a bridge between Northern Soul and Philly Disco” The Modern Soul Collective

Shades of Soul explores the sophisticated side of Northern Soul with a smooth collection of soulful recordings that have, over time, become known as “Crossover”; a bridge between Northern Soul and Philly disco. Here we have perennial dancefloor favourites from Gene Townsel, Johnny Adams, Eddie Billups and Jackey Beavers plus more recent reactivations such as “I’ve Just Got To Tell Somebody” by Gloria Lynne thanks to DJ Richard Searling. We also feature the rarest of the rare courtesy of Point Of View, The Harmonics and Gerald Taylor. Sixteen mid and uptempo grooves that showcase the crossover from Northern to Modern Soul.

This first edition of Shades of Soul is presented on 180g heavyweight audiophile vinyl in single sleeve packaging complete with liner notes and Club Soul insert. Shades of Soul joins a growing catalogue of premium music on the Club Soul imprint - including newly compiled LPs that celebrate the clubs of the original Northern Soul Scene - The Scene Club, The Twisted Wheel, Wigan Casino and The Catacombs.

Website Info/Purchase link follows below


Disc: 1
  1. Gene Townsel "I'm Walking Away" ( 03:41 )
  2. The Winstons "Colour Him Father" ( 03:04 )
  3. Brief Encounter "( Don't You See ) I'm Crazy About You" ( 03:09 )
  4. Gloria Lynne with Stanley Turrentine "I've Just Gotta Tell Somebody" ( 03:01 )
  5. Johnny Adams "You're A Bad Habit, Baby" ( 02:08 )
  6. Eddie Billups "Shake Off That Dream" ( 03:34 )
  7. Jackey Beavers "Lover Come Back" ( 02:45 )
  8. Lee Bates "( What Am I Gonna Do ) What Am I Gonna Say ?" ( 03:44 )

Disc: 2
  1. Point Of View "I'm Superman" ( 02:26 )
  2. The Harmonics "Be Your Man" ( 03:00 )
  3. Touch Of Class "You Got To Know Better" ( 03:21 )
  4. The Unexpected "Open Up Your Heart" ( 05:53 )
  5. Bobby Foster "If You Really Need A Friend ( Call On Me )" ( 02:42 )
  6. Gerald Taylor "I'm Coming Home" ( 02:41 )
  7. Doris Duke "The Feeling Is Right" ( 02:44 )
  8. Ella Washington "Stop Giving Your Man Away" ( 02:48 )

 Listen/Preview Shades Of Soul Lp

Album Cover art


Website link for Club Soul Purchases


More from Soul Source Magazine

  • Up vote 1

  1. 7 Day Lovers

  1. Article Comments

Forum Activity

Source Advert

Source Magazine Comments

There are no comments to display.

Source Magazine - Add Your Take!

Comment on our articles via...

Join Soul Source

A free & easy soul music affair!

Get started now!
Log into Soul Source

Get full use of the magazine feature

Log in now!

Related Soul Music Links

  • Create New...

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.