Jump to content

The Undisputed Truth - Nothing But The Truth - New Album Release - Kent Records

Followers 0
The Undisputed Truth - Nothing But The Truth - New Album Release - Kent Records magazine cover

The Undisputed Truth - Nothing But The Truth

A new release from Kent Records

 3 Albums On 2 CDs Plus Bonus Tracks

Preview of the Kent Blurb by Tony Rounce

First time on CD for three Motown albums from the early 70s, plus bonus tracks. Produced by Norman Whitfield.

Handpicked by top-level Motown writer-producer Norman Whitfield as a new outlet for the realisations of his creative mind, the Undisputed Truth debuted in 1970 with ‘Save My Love For A Rainy Day’ before going on to score significantly with the Grammy-nominated ‘Smiling Faces Sometimes’ and the original version of ‘Papa Was a Rolling Stone’, among others. Although their career was consistently overshadowed by the success of Whitfield’s main act, the Temptations, whose recordings they were frequently required to remake by their producer, the trio (who later became a quintet) nevertheless hit the R&B charts with 12 successful singles between 1971 and 1975, eight of which also made the Hot 100. Not a bad tally for any group, and one of which lead singer Joe Harris....

The full release notes can be viewed via


Preview via the very fine Juno Records Player 

The Tracks

Side 1
1.    "You Got The Love I Need" (The Undisputed Truth)
2.    "Save My Love For A Rainy Day"
3.    "California Soul"
4.    "Aquarius"
5.    "Ball Of Confusion (That's What The World Is Today)"
6.    "Smiling Faces Sometimes"
7.    "We've Got A Way Out Love"
8.    "Since I've Lost You"
9.    "Ain't No Sun Since You've Been Gone"
10.    "I Heard It Through The Grapevine"
11.    "Like A Rolling Stone"
12.    "Law Of The Land" (Law Of The Land)
13.    "Papa Was A Rollin' Stone"
14.    "Girl You're Alright"
15.    "Killing Me Softly With His Song"
16.    "Just My Imagination (Running Away With Me)"
17.    "This Child Needs It's Father"

Side 2
1.    "Mama I Gotta Brand New Thing (Don't Say No)"
2.    "Feelin' Alright"
3.    "Love & Happiness"
4.    "With A Little Help From My Friends"
5.    "If I Die"
6.    "Walk On By"
7.    "Help Yourself" (Down To Earth)
8.    "Big John Is My Name"
9.    "Brother Louie"
10.    "I'm A Fool For You"
11.    "Our Day Will Come"
12.    "Just You 'n' Me"
13.    "The Girl's Alright With Me"
14.    "Let's Go Back To Day One" (bonus track)
15.    "What It Is" (single version - bonus track)
16.    "What's Going On" (single edit - bonus track)
17.    "You Make Your Own Heaven & Hell Right Here On Earth" (single edit - bonus track)
18.    "Gonna Keep On Tryin' Till I Win Your Love" (bonus track)
19.    "Law Of The Land" (single version - bonus track)

Leaflet Scans











Members Comments

Recommended Comments

There are no comments to display.

Get involved with Soul Source

Add your comments now

Join Soul Source

A free & easy soul music affair!

Join Soul Source now!

Log in to Soul Source

Jump right back in!

Log in now!

  • Create New...

Important Information

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.