Jump to content
  • Sign Up
mike

Sharon Jones And Dap-Kings European Dates Annouced (frontpage)

Recommended Posts

Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings announce a new tour to support their upcoming album "I Learned the Hard Way" inc London, Berlin , Paris and Amsterdam.

Plus 45 sale info, 45 and lp release news from Daptone

European Dates

Friday, March 26 - Rutland, VT - Snoe Down Festival TICKETS

Saturday, April 10 - Berlin, Germany - Astra TICKETS

Tuesday, April 13 - Paris, France - Trabendo TICKETS

Wednesday, April 14 - London, UK - Kokos TICKETS

Thursday, April 15 - Amsterdam, NL - Paradiso TICKETS

USA dates at end

New 45!

3 Titans "College" b/w "The Life of a Scholar"

OUT NOW! Get it on 45 or .mp3 and watch them record "College" at Dunham Studios!

The 3 Titans, Khalil Jackson, Jorden Plaines, and Dallas Ifill, are rhythmically gifted fifth-graders with their sights set on higher education. On their debut for Dunham Records, College b/w Life of a Scholar, the precocious eleven-year-olds trade rhymes about the benefits of going to college and the determination it takes to get there over two sides of old-school, hard-as-nails (and refreshingly sample-free) beats provided by the notorious Menahan Street Band.

--------------------------------------------

45 SALE! From now through February 28th, 45s are on sale at $3 each! 43 titles total. Time to fill in the holes in your collection!

--------------------------------------------

Out April 6th...

Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings

"I Learned the Hard Way"

*Get a sneak preview of the album and download the single "I Learned the Hard Way" for free! Go here, now.

Produced by Bosco Mann and recorded on an Ampex eight-track tape machine by Gabriel Roth in Daptone Records House of Soul studios, this record drips with a warmth and spontaneity rarely found since the golden days of Muscle Shoals and Stax. *

-----------------------------------------------------------

DUE TO POPULAR DEMAND, A SECOND SHOW AT THE APOLLO HAS BEEN ADDED ON SATURDAY MAY 1st!!

Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings' NYC Record Release Parties

Friday April 30th @ The Apollo Theatre

253 West 125th Street

TICKETS

Saturday, May 1st @ The Apollo Theatre

253 West 125th Street, New York, NY

TICKETS GO ON SALE FRIDAY, FEBRUARY 26th

All Upcoming Shows

Menahan Street Band Featuring Charles Bradley

Along with Lee Fields & the Expressions!

February 19th

Music Hall of Williamsburg

66 North 6th St

Brooklyn, NY

http://www.musichall...

---------------------------------------------

Naomi Shelton & the Gospel Queens

Sunday March 14th

Bowery Ballroom

6 Delancey St

New York, NY

Opening for The Carolina Chocolate Drops

TICKETS

---------------------------------------------

The Mellomatics featuring Binky Griptite

Friday February 19th, 8pm

@ Southpaw

125 5th Ave.

Brooklyn, NY

Also Performing: Ikebe Shakedown, The Ex-Caminos

TICKETS

---------------------------------------------

Antibalas

First Australian Tour!

Sunday, 28 February 2010

WOMUBU World Music Weekend BUSSELTON WA

Old Broadwater Farm Busselton 3-10pm

TICKETS

Monday, 1 March 2010

RAILWAY HOTEL Fremantle 6-11pm

GLOBAL WARMING event with Tijuana Cartel + Sunshine Brothers + Grace Barbe

TICKETS

Thursday, 4 March 2010

MANNING BAR Sydney

w/ Gilles Peterson + DJ Somatik

TICKETS: www. manningbar.com & Moshtix.com & All moshtix outlets

Friday, 5 March 2010

PRINCE OF WALES Melbourne

+ Dead Dog + Dj Chris Gill

TICKETS

Saturday, 6 March 2010

GOLDEN PLAINS FESTIVAL Melbourne

TICKETS

Tuesday, 9 March 2010

FESTIVAL OF NEW ZEALAND

Pacific Blue Festival Club, Wellington NZ

TICKETS

Sharon Jones Dates USA

Saturday, April 17 - Live Oak, FL - Wanee Music Festival TICKETS

Thursday, April 22 - Lafayette, LA - Festival International de Louisiane TICKETS

Friday, April 23 - New Orleans, LA - The Howlin' Wolf

Saturday, April 24 - Oxford, MS - Double Decker Festival

Friday, April 30 - NYC RELEASE PARTY @ The Apollo Theater TICKETS

Saturday May 1st - New York, NY - The Apollo Theatre

Thursday, May 6 - Richmond, VA - Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden INFO

Friday, May 7 - Annapolis, MD - Ram's Head Onstage TICKETS

Saturday, May 8 - Charlottesville, VA - Jefferson Theater

Sunday, May 9 - Norfolk, VA - The NorVa TICKETS

Tuesday, May 11 - Carrboro, NC - Cat's Cradle TICKETS - on sale Friday!

Wednesday, May 12 - Asheville, NC - Orange Peel TICKETS - on sale Friday!

Thursday, May 13 - Atlanta, GA - Center Stage Atlanta TICKETS

Friday, May 14 - Nashville, TN - Cannery Ballroom TICKETS - on sale Friday!

Saturday, May 15 - Nelsonville, OH - Nelsonville Music Festival TICKETS

Monday, May 17 - Newport, KY - The Southgate House

Tuesday, May 18 - Detroit, MI - Majestic Theatre

Friday, May 21 - Chicago, IL - Vic Theatre

Saturday, May 22 - Milwaukee, WI - Pabst Theater TICKETS

Sunday, May 23 - Indianapolis, IN - The Vogue TICKETS - on sale Friday!

Tuesday, May 25 - Toronto, ON - The Sound Academy

Wednesday, May 26 - Montreal, QC - Le National

Thursday, May 27 - Boston, MA - House of Blues TICKETS - on sale Saturday!

Friday, May 28 - Hartfod, CT - New England Dodge Music Center TICKETS

Saturday, May 29 - Hartford, CT - New England Dodge Music Center TICKETS

Sunday, June 20 - Vancouver, BC - The Commodore Ballroom

Monday, June 21 - Seattle, WA - Showbox Sodo

Tuesday, June 22 - Portland, OR - Crystal Ballroom

Friday, June 25 - San Francisco, CA - Warfield Theatre

Saturday, June 26 - Los Angeles, CA - The Wiltern

Sunday, June 27 - Solana Beach, CA - Belly Up Tavern

Daptone Records

http://www.daptonerecords.com

Original article was posted in the Soul Source Article/News feature

view article in its original format (c/w images etc)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Comment now!

Comments are members only

Sign Up

Join Soul Source - Free & easy!

Sign up now!

Sign in

Sign in here.

Sign in now!

Adverts



×

Important Information

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.