Removing Lots Of Tape Residue From Vinyl 45

Premium Stuff

Hi everyone

Hope someone can help me out please

I have a quite rare and obscure 45 pressed on vinyl (not styrene)

There is a substantial amount of tape residue on the vinyl on one side covering about a fifth of the surface area

It looks like there was a large piece of sticky tape on it at one stage - I assume something like packing tape or duct tape

Anyway the tape was evidently removed aged ago - but there are lots of marks on the label where the sticky stuff was left behind - this residue is quite thick in places and (edit) is dried hard

Can anyone recommend a safe method for removing this from a vinyl record please?

I had wondered about 'sticky stuff remover' but have no idea whether that woud wreck the vinyl :thumbsup:

Any advice much apreciated - especially from qualified chemists!! :wave:

Cheers

Richard

Edited by Premium Stuff
Social source share

• Replies 12
  • Views 2.6k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Most active in this topic

Most active in this topic

Hi Paul

Thanks for the tip - sure that will come in handy sometime

About this 45, I stupidly forgot to mention :thumbsup: ... the sticky stuff is dried hard so I guess I need something that will dissolve it (will edit original post accordingly)

If you or anyone else has any other tips for dried-on sticky stuff I would be really grateful

Cheers

Richard

Social source share

Hi Paul

Thanks for the tip - sure that will come in handy sometime

About this 45, I stupidly forgot to mention :thumbsup: ... the sticky stuff is dried hard so I guess I need something that will dissolve it (will edit original post accordingly)

If you or anyone else has any other tips for dried-on sticky stuff I would be really grateful

Cheers

Richard