Best Ever British Northern Soul

Dayo

I'm still a relative newbie here, so please forgive me if this ones been asked before; I guess it'll disappear quickly if the topic is a chestnut.

Here's the question; what's your absolute favourite home grown Northern Soul record? I'm looking for YOUR one or two faves, rather than endless lists of songs we all know are British productions.

I've a big soft spot for Stella Starr's version of Bring Him Back, partly because of the massive drum sound and mostly coz I once had a shiny mint UK demo. Frankie and Johnny's I'll Hold You sounds for all the world like a US production, but my fave has got to be Band Of Angels - Invitation. Simple song, simply done, great vocals from Mike D'Abo, perhaps not soulful enough for most tastes?

What do you think? If it's not a contradiction in terms; Best ever British produced Northern Soul record?

PS First person to suggest Nosmo King/Javells gets a free black and decker nose hair trimmer! :D

Edited by Dayo
Social source share

• Replies 124
  • Views 7.9k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Most active in this topic

Most active in this topic

I'm still a relative newbie here, so please forgive me if this ones been asked before; I guess it'll disappear quickly if the topic is a chestnut.

Here's the question; what's your absolute favourite home grown Northern Soul record? I'm looking for YOUR one or two faves, rather than endless lists of songs we all know are British productions.

I've a big soft spot for Stella Starr's version of Bring Him Back, partly because of the massive drum sound and mostly coz I once had a shiny mint UK demo. Frankie and Johnny's I'll Hold You sounds for all the world like a US production, but my fave has got to be Band Of Angels - Invitation. Simple song, simply done, great vocals from Mike D'Abo, perhaps not soulful enough for most tastes?

What do you think? If it's not a contradiction in terms; Best ever British produced Northern Soul record?