marva

Hello Again From Marva Holiday (Looong Post :-)

Hello again Soul Source People.  This is Marva Holiday and I am glad to be back! 

I joined this forum three years ago but then I got busy with life, family and other "stuff" and was unable to log back in. -Seems it was just "one thing after another."  Things calmed down and I got more active in social media but I had not decided if I wanted to look back on my old music life..or have one final stab at it.  What I decided to do is at the end of this post...

MY BACKGROUND: Some of you know that I grew up in South Los Angeles and Compton, California.  Compton was semi-rural back then... a great place to grow up and there was a lot of music around.  When I was a sophomore in high school. Fred Hughes ("Owee Baby I Love You") was a senior.) He would sing at school talent shows, backed by two twin sisters who had great harmony.  I did not know him personally but I saw him around and we from the "Hub City" were very proud of him when he got hits with his first song and later "Baby Boy."  There are still a lot of people who get Fred mixed up with Freddie Hughes.  Both are very talented. I think that Freddie Hughes is actually from the Bay area, where I was born.