Original v Remastered

Ianc1971

As some know i'm new to the scene. Was just wondering what everyone thought of the CD/MP3 generation? For me the later as been god send as there is no way, getting this late into the scene, that i could collect the original tracks on vinyl.

1 It would be near impossible

2 It would take a lottery win

Is something lost by remastering originals?

Social source share

The heart of the scene will always be vinyl but the reissue on CD is brilliant.  It is vital to get properly mastered releases from labels that are MCPS registered, paying the proper royalties.  From there you can make your own MP3s for convenience and efficiency of storage which will sound perfectly good at 320kbs / 44.1khz settings.   Labels such as Kent, Expansion, Outta Sight, Joe Boy, Sequel, Spectrum, BBR, BBE, Charly and many dozens more have all put out great reissue releases (with Kent as the most dedicated).   CDs are for home and on the move listening, vinyl as the original source for playing at events (with crossover for more Modern Soul of course.   There's a lot to collect in CDs, many of which are collectble themselves.  I've been collecting soul on CD since the mid-1980s from the first Charly and Sequel releases such as 'Up All Night' and 'Some Modern Soul' through to now.   There's a huge treasure trove of music that has never made it to CD and lots that in all likelihood never will, but once you start collecting in whatever form it will be with you throughout your life.   Get a good music management software tool such as MediaMonkey and start building your own library.  It's great fun.