mellorful

Record Store day 2019

You really think there will be huge demand for the instrumental? I don't.

I'm fairly new to the RSD game. I understand that the Darrell Banks 45 can be ordered by german record stores too. Thought all the RSD releases are only available in the respective country?

I posted this in the Nichelle Nichols thread.  As someone who buys new and old releases in all formats from both online and in physical shops, looking through the releases unlike other genres I think this is again another poor year for people who collect Funk/Soul.  More laziness of the record companies, with straight reissues of LP's just on different coloured vinyl, singles box sets containing already released 7" material and previously released LP tracks on 7" or 12" formats.  There are things to be found or these smaller labels wouldn't be releasing both new and unlreleased stuff on vinyl throughout the year or is it that companies like Warmers, Sony or Universal have nothing in their vaults or have no real interest looking through their vaults knowing that they can get someone to recycle the same old stuff over and over again and people will just buy it.  If you like instrumentals then the Parliaments and Darrell Banks is something for you and New York Soul, New Orleans Soul, Texas Soul & Soul Slab Vol 2 compilation LP's look quite interesting, but I think they all contain only previously released music.  The only one of real interest for me is the Super Disco Edits LP, which does have 5 formerly unreleased tracks.

Is it that with regards to Record Store Day, record companies have little respect for the Soul/Funk buyers?

Edited by John Reed

Looking through the list again it seems like an excuse to exploit the collectors of their hard earned.  Very little of interest, spurious claims on the Alice Clark Lp, other tracks that are not even rare even if one does have a pointless instrumental on the flip.  Only one of interest to me is the Super Disco Edits Lp.