Blackpoolsoul's profile photo

Brexit and Vinyl ..... what happens next ?

Freebasing Blackpoolsoul

Posted (edited)

I hope this is the correct thread for this topic, I do apologise if it should be somewhere else

As a potential "no-deal Brexit looms" I wondered about the cost of "new" vinyl and potential sales problems for second hand records being sold in the near future, tariffs being the issue for dealers and individuals and customs issues

This article from the beginning of the year is informative, but as I am no expert, so I thought I would ask the forum for advice on how things may be affected

https://www.dw.com/en/in-a-spin-brexit-spells-trouble-for-uk-vinyl-industry/a-47501616

Edited by Blackpoolsoul

Share this source music forum post

soul source url
Posted

Being as a buy my records from UK dealers these days ( the odd time that I buy now ) it won't affect me in the slightest  just as long as we respect the the vote and actually leave.  Can't see it having a effect on record prices either way, the majority are  stupid regardless of where they come from. 

Steve 

• Up vote 1

soul source url
Posted

As the article states a lot of these pressing plants are in mainland European countries.  It will be the same as any other company in the UK that imports goods or raw materials from Europe.  If import duties are imposed, that cost will be passed through to the buyer, so the sale price of these records will go up.

soul source url
Posted

Just in the same way as Ebay purchases of used records from the USA can attract 'import duty' (if the seller won't be reasonable and show a minimum value on the customs label), so the same might happen with UK/EU purchases depending on what type of Brexit there is!

• Up vote 1

soul source url
Posted

Project  fear , welcome to soul source.

• Up vote 2

soul source url
Posted