Jump to content
For Dancers Forty - Kent Cd zoom image
  • For Dancers Forty - Kent Cd image
Click or hover over image to zoom in

For Dancers Forty - Kent Cd

Price: £10.50 + £11.55 shipping (see below)

Tramp - Foxfire featuring Johnny Adams

No More Tears - The Sweethearts

Condition: Brand new shrink wrapped


For Dancers Forty - Kent Cd

For Dancers Forty - Various Artists - CDKEND 514

Our new CD "For Dancers Forty" revisits the US Modern and Kent labels that started it all off

Release Date 29 November 2022

Clip of the release notes from Ady Croasdell via Ace Records follows below...

Kent Records are commemorating 40 years since the LP KENT 001 "For Dancers Only" hit the record shops in 1982 with resounding success. Our new CD "For Dancers Forty" revisits the US Modern and Kent labels that started it all off.

We have already released a "For Dancers Forty" LP but though the compilations share the same celebratory title, only three tracks feature on both. We didn't want to neglect our digital customers at the expense of the vinyl hounds.

The collection represents the breadth of label-owners Saul, Jules, Joe and Lester Bihari's recordings, featuring stompers, rhythm & blues rockers, girl soul grooves, group harmony and sublime ballads.

Several tracks are new to Kent CDs. There are previously unheard 1966 soul recording from 50s Modern R&B artists Aaron Collins and his sisters, the Teen Queens, guitarist/songwriter Arthur Adams and soul-crooner Billy Watkins. Kent stalwarts Mary Love and Z. Z. Hill are featured, musically and on the front cover with a recently discovered studio shot.

As with KENT 001 we feature the R&B sounds of the label from T-Bone Walker, Little Joe Blue, Flash Terry and the mighty B. B. King. There are underplayed tracks by Jeanette Jones, Lowell Fulson and Tommy Youngblood - whose moody LP-only track 'Tobacco Road North' has been sampled by US rappers. As ever on our rare soul scene, it is the lesser-known artists who we spotlight - there are largely unheard tracks by Teddy Reynolds (from a very obscure Twist LP), King Solomon and a plaintive ballad from Beatrice Lee.

Northern Soul devotees will enjoy the Sweethearts' Motownesque 'No More Tears', Jimmy Bee's new and improved 'Wanting You' with added chorus, which has a digital debut and Clay Hammond's cult mover 'You Brought It All On Yourself' reappears after several years' absence. The funk-edged crowd get the first re-release of Foxfire's manic take on Fulson's 'Tramp', and new to Kent are Larry (Perrault) & Tommy (Bush) doing a version of Shorty Long's 'Here Comes The Judge'


Can listen to two tracks above


Side 1
01 Satisfied Feeling - Mary Love
02 You'd Be Good For Me - Jeanette Jones
03 Gonna Put It On Your Mind - Arthur Adams
04 Tobacco Road North - Tommy Youngblood
05 Jealous Woman - T-Bone Walker
06 Walk The Chalk Line - Aaron Collins & The Teen Queens
07 I've Got Papers On You Baby - B.B. King
08 You Changed Me - Teddy Reynolds & The Twisters
09 Wanting You - Jimmy Bee
10 That's It - Z.Z. Hill
11 Push Me - Lowell Fulson
12 Here Comes The Judge - Larry & Tommy
13 Tramp - Foxfire featuring Johnny Adams
14 Freedom And Justice - Pace-Setters
15 Jimmy's Special - Little Joe Blue
16 Remove My Doubts - Stacy Johnson
17 You Brought It All On Yourself - Clay Hammond
18 It's Crazy Baby - Ike & Tina Turner
19 On My Way Back Home - Flash Terry & His Orch
20 Mr Bad Luck - King Solomon
21 Mr Bus Driver - The Teen Queens
22 No More Tears - The Sweethearts
23 Help Me - Beatrice Lee
24 I'll Let Nothing Come Between Us - Billy Watkins

In stock and available now for same working day shipping (see shipping information via tab above)

Shipping Options

Shipping options and prices may vary depending on the total value of your order. Your final shipping price will be determined at checkout.

Same Day Shipping. We will try our best to dispatch orders on the same day for all orders placed before 3 pm (UK time) on working days.

Letterbox friendly shipping/postage

All 45s will be sent via brand new 7 inch mailers

2 x cardboard stiffeners to protect the 45s in each package

Uk Shipping Charges

Are calculated as per the current Royal Mail charges for Royal Mail First Class Delivery plus a £0.35 charge added to cover the cost of packing materials

Our New Royal Mail First Class Shipping rates for 1 or 2 or 3 items are now £2.40 (£2.05 postage + £0.35 packing)

Shipping refunds – due to the varying weight of 45s, if there are found to be any major (over 10% of the fee) excess shipping charges, these charges will be refunded asp via method of payment.

Europe and Rest Of World Shipping Charges

All orders to Europe and The Rest Of The World will now be sent via Royal Mail International Tracked & Signed Service


  • Europe delivery aim: 3-5 working days
  • Worldwide delivery aim: 5-7 working days
  • Fully tracked to delivery point
  • Signature on delivery
  • Online delivery confirmation
  • Free returns for undelivered items
  • Compensation cover up to £50

Europe and Rest Of World Custom and Tax Charges

Import duties, taxes, and charges are not included in the item price or shipping cost. These charges are the buyer's responsibility.

Please check with your country's customs office to determine what your additional costs will be prior to buying.

Working days and order cut off times

Working days    Cut off time for same day dispatch    

Monday - Friday : 15:00hrs
Saturday / Sunday : Non working day

All above time zone Europe/London

Updated 24th July 2022

Options shown are based on your estimated location.

  • £11.55 - USA & Rest Of World - International Tracked & Signed (6-7 working days)

Shipping Size

  • Size
    14.2 cm × 12.5 cm × 3 cm
  • Weight
    0.12 kg

  • Create New...