Jump to content
People Get Ready - The Curtis Mayfield Songbook - VA (Song Writer Series) - Kent Records CD CDTOP 506 zoom image
  • People Get Ready - The Curtis Mayfield Songbook - VA (Song Writer Series) - Kent Records CD CDTOP 506 image
Click or hover over image to zoom in

People Get Ready - The Curtis Mayfield Songbook - VA (Song Writer Series) - Kent Records CD CDTOP 506

Price: £11.50 + £12.90 shipping (see below)

He Will Break Your Heart - Freddie Scott

Hard Times - John Legend & The Roots featuring Black Thought

Condition: Brand new shrink wrapped


People Get Ready - The Curtis Mayfield Songbook - VA (Song Writer Series) - Kent Records CD CDTOP 506

People Get Ready: The Curtis Mayfield Songbook

Various Artists (Songwriter Series)

CDTOP 506 


Format: Audio CD 

Release Date 29th October 2021

An extensive overview of the words and music of Chicago’s Gentle Genius Of Soul.

A preview of the release notes from Tony Rounce follows below...

Curtis Mayfield (3 June 1942–26 December 1999) rightfully belongs at the top of any list of the truly great singer-songwriters that black America has ever shared with the global population. Curtis’ compositions raised the bar for soul songwriting from 1960 onwards and maintained an astonishingly high level for two decades.

What makes that all the more remarkable is the fact that Curtis wrote virtually all of the songs that put him in this category on his own, without a writing partner – something others in his peer group (Hayes-Porter, Holland-Dozier-Holland, Smokey Robinson and a host of collaborators, etc) seldom did. All while maintaining a career as a performer with the Impressions for around 13 years, and then as a solo act for a further two decades.


Side 1
01  Gypsy Woman - The Impressions
02  The Monkey Time - The Miracles
03  Behind The Curtains - Jan Bradley
04  Rainbow (Alt) - Gene Chandler
05  Mama Didn't Lie - The Orlons
06  Um, Um, Um, Um, Um, Um - Major Lance
07  I've Been Trying - Jerry Butler
08  Queen Majesty - The Techniques
09  It's All Over - Walter Jackson
10  He Will Break Your Heart - Freddie Scott
11  People Get Ready - Dionne Warwick
12  That's What Love Will Do - The Gaylads
13  Man's Temptation - The Jackson 5
14  Give Me Your Love - Barbara Mason
15  Need To Belong To Someone - Isaac Hayes
16  I'm So Proud - The Main Ingredient
17  Make Me Believe In You - Patti Jo
18  Keep On Keeping On (UK single edit) - Curtis Mayfield
19  The Makings Of You - Gladys Knight & The Pips
20  Let's Do It Again (Single edit) - The Staple Singers
21  Look Into Your Heart (Single edit) - Aretha Franklin
22  Never Stop Loving Me - Keni Burke
23  Giving Him Something He Can Feel - En Vogue
24  Hard Times - John Legend & The Roots featuring Black Thought

Listen to two tracks above

In stock and available now for same working day shipping (see shipping information via tab above)

Shipping Options

Shipping options and prices may vary depending on the total value of your order. Your final shipping price will be determined at checkout.

Same Day Shipping. We will try our best to dispatch orders on the same day for all orders placed before 3 pm (UK time) on working days.

Letterbox friendly shipping/postage

All 45s will be sent via brand new 7 inch mailers

2 x cardboard stiffeners to protect the 45s in each package

Uk Shipping Charges

Are calculated as per the current Royal Mail charges for Royal Mail First Class Delivery plus a £0.35 charge added to cover the cost of packing materials

Our New Royal Mail First Class Shipping rates for 1 or 2 or 3 items are now £2.40 (£2.05 postage + £0.35 packing)

Shipping refunds – due to the varying weight of 45s, if there are found to be any major (over 10% of the fee) excess shipping charges, these charges will be refunded asp via method of payment.

Europe and Rest Of World Shipping Charges

All orders to Europe and The Rest Of The World will now be sent via Royal Mail International Tracked & Signed Service


  • Europe delivery aim: 3-5 working days
  • Worldwide delivery aim: 5-7 working days
  • Fully tracked to delivery point
  • Signature on delivery
  • Online delivery confirmation
  • Free returns for undelivered items
  • Compensation cover up to £50

Europe and Rest Of World Custom and Tax Charges

Import duties, taxes, and charges are not included in the item price or shipping cost. These charges are the buyer's responsibility.

Please check with your country's customs office to determine what your additional costs will be prior to buying.

Working days and order cut off times

Working days    Cut off time for same day dispatch    

Monday - Friday : 15:00hrs
Saturday / Sunday : Non working day

All above time zone Europe/London

Updated 24th July 2022

Options shown are based on your estimated location.

  • £12.90 - USA & Rest Of World - International Tracked & Signed (6-7 working days)

Shipping Size

  • Size
    14.2 cm × 12.5 cm × 3 cm
  • Weight
    0.12 kg

  • Create New...