Jump to content

Pre-order: Trambeat - Don't Hold Back / (INST) 45 - LRK Records

Pre-order: Trambeat - Don't Hold Back / (INST) 45 - LRK Records magazine cover

LRK are proud to announce their latest 45 release "Dont Hold Back" by Trambeat on limited edition vinyl! 

South London Soul Band Trambeat, influenced by the floor shaking sound of 1960's Motor City. With brand new single, "Don't Hold Back"

Trambeat were formed in 2012 by guitarist Graham Potter and drummer Des" Jammy" James. Graham and Des had played together in several bands previously and already had a good musical understanding. Trambeat's manifesto; to write original songs influenced by a love of Northern Soul, Motown, Rocksteady and RnB. But also to look forward and include elements of more contemporary genres. Bass player Nipper Smith, Saxophonists Robin Ogleby and Nadia Barbosa, and organist Emer O'Hanlon were recruited to form the core band and Trambeat set about recording and gigging with various vocalists until, in 2016, Aimee Grinter became Trambeat's permanent lead singer.

Written by Graham Potter and Des James, "Don't Hold Back" is in some ways a comeback single for Trambeat. The pandemic years took their toll on many bands and Trambeat In particular, with the loss of founding member Robin Ogleby being a very hard blow. Following a tribute single in 2021 to raise money for Robin's charities, and a couple of festival gigs in the summer of 2022, they didn't have much appetite for writing new material, and were unsure whether to continue as a band without Robin. It was during a jam between Graham and Des in late 2022 that the bones of "Don't Hold Back" came together. The drums and rhythm guitar clicked into an infectious dance groove with echoes of vintage Motown. The band members came together in the studio with renewed enthusiasm and laid down the track in just a day. The band, who remained close,even during this hiatus, realised how great it was to be back in the studio together again. Graham's lyrics, as well as the euphoric feel of the track, reflected this new optimism within the band. "Don't Hold Back" is a celebration of life, of deep friendships and most of all, of love! 


releases September 29, 2023



Aimee Grinter - Lead Vocals

Emer O'Hanlon - Backing Vocals, Organ and Cello

Des James - Drums and Percussion

Nipper Smith - Bas Guitar and Conga

Mike Brown - Guitar

Nadia Barbosa - Alto Sax, Baritone Sax and Flute

Graham Potter - Guitar, Tenor sax, Backing vocals

Dave Cox - Trumpet

Graham Lentz - Percussion


PRE-ORDERS are now live: https://lrkrecords.bandcamp.com/album/dont-hold-back-2





  • Up vote 1

Source Advert

Members Comments

Recommended Comments

There are no comments to display.

Get involved with Soul Source

Add your comments now

Join Soul Source

A free & easy soul music affair!

Join Soul Source now!

Log in to Soul Source

Jump right back in!

Log in now!

  • Create New...