Jump to content

New Ace Cd - Wrap It Up - The Isaac Hayes And David Porter Songbook (Songwriter Series)

New Ace Cd - Wrap It Up - The Isaac Hayes And David Porter Songbook  (Songwriter Series) magazine cover

A new addition to the Ace Record's Songwriter Series of albums...

Wrap It Up - The Isaac Hayes And David Porter Songbook - Ace Cd - CDTOP 1622

Release notes clip from Tony Rounce follows

Ace are delighted to welcome them into our ever-popular Songwriter Series this month with “Wrap It Up”, a fantastic collection featuring almost half of the total number of songs they wrote together in versions you would expect, and versions you wouldn’t!

Hayes and Porter wrote for almost every major act on the Stax roster, but the commercial appeal of their songs gave them appeal to artists operating outside of the perimeters of soul music. ZZ Top, Peter Frampton, the (Count) Bishops and Charlie Rich are just some of the fine turns you will find here essaying Hayes and Porter copyrights alongside Stax stalwarts such as Johnnie Taylor, Mable John, the Emotions, the Soul Children, Otis Redding and Carla Thomas, and, of course, Sam and Dave whose recordings of their songs were what established Hayes and Porter as a peerless songwriting force in the first place.

As lovingly curated and expertly annotated as you would expect any Ace project in the Songwriter Series to be, “Wrap It Up” is another valuable piece in the great American songwriting jigsaw, and very much a collection where the songs that were not necessarily big hits are easily on a par with those that were. It is a fitting audio tribute to two men who have between them won just about every major award going, from Grammys to election to the Songwriters’ Hall of Fame.

The full release notes can be had via the Ace Records Website - Tap Here

Track listing

01 Sixty Minutes Of Your Love - Homer Banks
02 As Long As I've Got You - The Emotions
03 B-A-B-Y - Rachel Sweet
04 Can't Trust Your Neighbour - Freddie King
05 May I Baby - Peter Frampton
06 You're Taking Up Another Man's Place - Aretha Franklin
07 Hold On I'm Comin' (single version) - The Righteous Brothers
08 I've Got To Love Somebody's Baby - Peter Gallagher
09 I'll Understand - Edwin Starr & Blinky
10 I Take What I Want - The Bishops
11 I Thank You - Z Z Top
12 My Baby Specializes - Delaney & Bonnie
13 Never Like This Before - Marcia Ball
14 Soul Man - Sam & Dave
15 Left Over Love - Ruby Johnson
16 The Sweeter He Is (Parts 1 & 2) - The Soul Children
17 Toe Hold (unedited version) - Johnnie Taylor
18 When Something Is Wrong With My Baby - Otis Redding & Carla Thomas
19 Wrap It Up - Archie Bell & The Drells
20 You Don't Know Like I Know - Keith Powell & Billie Davis
21 You Got Me Hummin' - The Hassles
22 Your Good Thing (Is About To End) - Mable John
23 Love Is After Me - Charlie Rich
24 I'm Dedicating My Life - Danny White




Released today 30th September 2023 and so now available via all the usual fine online and real world soul stores including our own in-house Source Store

Tap here for Source Store page


Listen: Sample #1

Listen: Sample #2

Members Comments

Recommended Comments

There are no comments to display.

  • Create New...