Jump to content
This Is Lowrider Soul Vol 2 - VA - Kent Records CD zoom image
  • This Is Lowrider Soul Vol 2 - VA - Kent Records CD image
Click or hover over image to zoom in

This Is Lowrider Soul Vol 2 - VA - Kent Records CD

Price: £10.50

Can't Nobody - Brothers Of Soul

What Am I Going To Do - Houston Outlaws

Condition: Brand new shrink wrapped

In stock and available for same day shipping


This Is Lowrider Soul Vol 2 - VA - Kent Records CD

This Is Lowrider Soul Vol 2

Various Artists



Format: Audio CD 

Release Date 26th November 2021

Three years after 'This Is Lowrider Soul'  Volume 2 pulls out on to the streets

A preview of the release notes from Ady Croasdell follows below...

It’s been almost three years since Sean Hampsey and the Southern (California) Soul Spinners created “This Is Lowrider Soul” for Kent Records, and the ensuing acclaim and enjoyment have made this second volume essential.

Philadelphia also specialised in this sound as the 60s turned into the 70s, and the Ethics’ ‘Sad Sad Story’ is a classic of its kind, in a similar vein to the offerings of Little Ben & the Cheers, the Vanguards and Johnson, Hawkins, Tatum & Durr; mid-Western groups trying to capture that same soulful feeling.

Though the artists on this CD are overwhelmingly male, when the girls hit it right the effect is stunning – as with the Sparkels’ rarity ‘Try Love (One More Time)’. Another pricey original 45 is the Hyperions’ West Coast-recorded and released ‘Believe In Me’. It was hardly known until the Northern Soul A-side was flipped out of curiosity.

Three tracks were rescued from the tape vaults and released on Kent CDs in the late noughties. East Coast stalwart Benny Gordon’s protégés the Exceptions, New York outfit the Radiations and Los Angeles’ very own Magicians all deliver accomplished and ready-to-hear soul ballads. It is testament to the depth of talent in black America in the soul era, that they were deemed surplus to requirements at the time.

Other big-name groups on the Lowrider scene such as the Hesitations, the Manhattans, the Larks and the Superbs all feature here; the compilation flows admirably, creating a soulful mood as the artists always intended.


Side 1
01 So Much In Love - The Exceptions
02 Please Say It Isn't So - Lee Williams & The Cymbals
03 Somebody Please - The Vanguards
04 Yes I'm Ready - The Hesitations
05 You Never Loved Me (At All) - Barbara Mason
06 Sad, Sad Story - The Ethics
07 Try Love (One More Time) - The Sparkels
08 Follow Your Heart - The Manhattans
09 Someone - The Lovers
10 Little Girl - Darrow Fletcher
11 I Want You - Dee Torres
12 It Hurts So Much - The Superbs
13 I Want You (Back) - The Larks
14 Trust In Me - The Magicians
15 Believe In Me - The Hyperions
16 Here It Comes - The Persians
17 Can't Nobody - Brothers Of Soul
18 That's The Way Our Love Is - The Radiations
19 My Sweet Baby - The Mark-Keys
20 Don't Take Your Love From Me - The Perfections
21 (I'm Not Ready To) Settle Down - Little Ben & The Cheers
22 You Can't Blame Me - Johnson, Hawkins, Tatum & Durr
23 What Am I Going To Do - Houston Outlaws
24 A Man That Is Not Free - Soul Sensations

Listen to two tracks above

In stock and available for same working day shipping (see shipping information below)

Condition: Brand new shrink wrapped

Shipping Size

  • Size
    14.2 cm × 12.5 cm × 3 cm
  • Weight
    0.12 kg

  • Create New...

Important Information

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.