Jump to content

New Cd - William Bell - Never Like This Before - Kent Cd - Out 27 May 2022

New Cd - William Bell - Never Like This Before - Kent Cd - Out 27 May 2022 magazine cover

Details of a fine CD release from Kent records

Willian Bell - Never Like This Before - The Complete 'Blue' Stax Singles 1961-1968 

Due out at the end of this month, info below... 


Preview of the release notes by Tony Rounce

Iconic veteran Southern soul man William Bell has been in the business of making records for 66 years, and was with Memphis’ fabled Stax label for virtually its entire 15-year existence (1960-1975). In that time, he composed and recorded many songs that are rightly regarded as classics, from his Stax debut ‘You Don’t Miss Your Water’ to the classic blues song ‘Born Under A Bad Sign’ to his hit duet with Judy Clay, ‘Private Number’.

Ace Records has represented William’s Stax catalogue in the UK for longer than the label originally existed, and we have issued a number of CDs over the years, including original albums and “Best Of” packages, but this month sees the release of the first of two CD sets that will, between them, anthologise the A and B-sides all of William’s solo singles for Stax.

“Never Like This Before” covers the first seven years of William’s Stax catalogue, and rounds up all 14 of the singles that came out on Stax’s original blue label design with the ‘Stack Of Records’....

Full release note scan be read via https://acerecords.co.uk/never-like-this-before-the-complete-blue-stax-singles-1961-1968

Leaflet Preview






01    You Don't Miss Your Water
02    Formula Of Love
03    Any Other Way
04    Please Help Me I'm Falling
05    I Told You So
06    What'Cha Gonna Do
07    Just As I Thought
08    I'm Waiting On You
09    What Can I Do (To Forget)
10    Somebody Mentioned Your Name
11    I'll Show You
12    Monkeying Around
13    Don't Make Something Out Of Nothing
14    Who Will It Be Tomorrow
15    Crying All By Myself
16    Don't Stop Now
17    Share What You Got (But Keep What You Need)
18    Marching Off To War
19    Never Like This Before
20    Soldier's Goodbye
21    Everybody Loves A Winner
22    You're Such A Sweet Thang
23    Eloise (Hang On In There)
24    One Plus One
25    Every Day Will Be Like A Holiday
26    Ain't Got No Girl
27    A Tribute To A King
28    Every Man Oughta Have A Woman


Soldier's Goodbye

 Who Will It Be Tomorrow 



Available now via  all the usual online stockists include our own Source Store (Tap to visit)




Members Comments

Recommended Comments

  • Create New...