East LA Soul - Rampart Records 1963-1971 - Outta Sight Records

East LA Soul - Rampart Records 1963-1971 - Outta Sight Records magazine cover

The 10th of November saw this compilation album titled ' East LA Soul - Rampart Records 1963-1971' released from Outta Sight records

The release speil goes like this...


In the late fifties, former child actor and restaurateur, Eddie Davis formed the now legendary Rampart Records to record and preserve the emerging musical talents breaking out of the Latino community in East L.A. In so doing he created the Eastside Sound and a string of hits by the likes of The Blendells, The Salas Brothers, El Chicano and Cannibal & The Headhunters. He also introduced the world to a young and talented Barry White! For the first time in the U.K. Outta Sight, bring together the soulful sides of the Rampart catalogue and tell the story behind the music and the artists that made it.


Track listing...


1. Tracy (All I Have Is You) - Barry White and The Atlantics

2. Come Swim With Me - Little Ray

3. Girl I Love You - Ron Holden

4. Gonna Be A Big Man - The Soul-Jers

5. It Hurts Me - Sammy Lee

6. I'm In Love With Your Daughter (Part 1) - Thee Enchantments

7. Takin' Care Of Business - Barry White | Sarah James & The Soul Babies

8. Come On Home - The Four Tempos

9. I Love Her So Much (It Hurts Me) - The Majestics

10. She Gives Me Love - The Romancers

11. This Is The Way I Feel - The Four Tempos

12. Tell Her I Love Her - The Romancers

13. Strange World - The Majestics

14. Chinese Checkers - The Mixtures

15. Land Of 1000 Dances - Cannibal & The Headhunters

16. Sloop Dance - The Atlantics

17. The Panther - The East Bay Soul Brass

18. Hey Joe, Where You Gonna Go? - Sammy Lee & The Summits

19. La La La La La - The Blendells

20. Evil Ways - The Village Callers

21. Poquito Soul - One G Plus 3

22. Crystal Blue Persuasion - The Invincibles

23. Brown And Beautiful - Two Tones Of Love

24. Listen To The Wise Man - East Side Kids

25. I Had A Strange Dream - The Four Tempos

26. One Like Mine - The Salas Bros


avialable now at the usual suspects

  1. 7 Day Lovers

  1. Article Comments

Forum Activity

Source Advert

Source Magazine Comments

There are no comments to display.

Source Magazine - Add Your Take!

Comment on our articles via...

Join Soul Source

A free & easy soul music affair!

Get started now!
Log into Soul Source

Get full use of the magazine feature

Log in now!

Related Soul Music Links

  • Create New...

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.