Jump to content
  • Sign Up

O V Wright and Howard Tate - New Comps

O V Wright and Howard Tate - New Comps cover

Reported as out today,  two artist specific comp albums from Play Back records (which is said to be a Polish setup)

Howard Tate - I Learned It All The Hard Way - Play Back records

O.V. Wright - Treasured Moments -  Play Back records (Double CD)

Information, listings and company blurbs follows...


Howard Tate - I Learned It All The Hard Way - Play Back records

 'Howard Tate was of one of soul music's greatest singers. This 29 track career spanning retrospective illustrates Tate's consistently creative, accomplished prowess as a song interpreter with key selections from his Verve, Turntable, Atlantic, Epic and HT output. Although he was relatively unknown in his day, his stature amongst soul collectors worldwide has grown to legendary status and his songs have been covered by a diverse range of great artists including Janis Joplin, B.B. King, Jimi Hendrix and Ry Cooder. This is Essential Deep Soul!' 

 1. Half a Man
  2. You're Lookin' Good
  3. Get It While You Can
  4. Ain't Nobody Home
  5. Baby, I Love You
  6. Shoot 'Em All Down
  7. Stop
  8. Night Owl
  9. I Learned It All the Hard Way
  10. Sweet Love Child
  11. I'm Your Servant
  12. Question
  13. Have You Ever Had the Blues?
  14. My Soul's Got a Hole in It
  15. Plenty of Love
  16. That's What Happens
  17. These Are the Things That Make Me Know You're Gone
  18. It's Too Late
  19. She's a Burglar
  20. 8 Days On the Road
  21. You Don't Know Nothing 'Bout Love
  22. Where Did My Baby Go
  23. Strugglin'
  24. Keep Cool
  25. The Bitter End
  26. Ain't Got Nobody to Give It To
  27. Can You Top This
  28. Brand New Me
  29. Get It While You Can



O.V. Wright - Treasured moments -  Play Back records (Double CD) 

'When O.V. Wright died from a heart attack in 1980, it was a tragic end to one of the greatest artistic runs of any American soul singer. Although the 41 year old had scored thirteen Top 50 R&B hits, his success cannot be measured strictly in commercial terms; rather, Wright is revered as one of the greatest, most expressive and accomplished stylists in the idiom's history, ranking right alongside if not eclipsing such famed colleagues as Otis Redding and Solomon Burke. This 2CD set presents a complete compendium of O.V. Wright's scorching 45rpm singles, 41 tracks originally released 1965-1976 on Don Robey's legendary Back Beat label and ABC Records. This is an essential cornerstone of any Southern Soul collection! '

Disc: 1
  1. Can't Find True Love
  2. Don't Want to Sit Down
  3. You're Gonna Make Me Cry
  4. Monkey Dog
  5. I'm in Your Corner
  6. Poor Boy
  7. Gone for Good
  8. How Long Baby
  9. Eight Men and Four Women
  10. Fed Up With the Blues
  11. Heartaches, Heartaches
  12. Treasured Moments
  13. What About You
  14. What Did You Tell This Girl of Mine
  15. Oh Baby Mine
  16. Working Your Game
  17. I Want Everyone to Know
  18. Gonna Forget About You
  19. Missing You
  20. This Hurt Is Real
  21. I'll Take Care of You

Disc: 2
  1. Why Not Give Me a Chance?
  2. Love the Way You Love
  3. Blowing in the Wind
  4. Ace of Spades
  5. Afflicted
  6. Born All Over
  7. When You Took Your Love from Me
  8. A Nickel and a Nail
  9. Pledging My Love
  10. Don't Let My Baby Ride
  11. He Made Woman for Man
  12. Drowning On Dry Land
  13. Please Forgive Me
  14. I'd Rather Be Blind, Crippled and Crazy
  15. I'm Going Home (To Live With God)
  16. I've Been Searching
  17. What More Can I Do
  18. Henpecked Man
  19. Nobody But You
  20. Slow and Easy


  1. 7 Day Lovers

  1. Article Comments

Forum Activity

Members Comments

Recommended Comments

There are no comments to display.

Comment now!

Comments are members only

Sign Up

Join Soul Source - Free & easy!

Sign up now!

Sign in

Sign in here.

Sign in now!

Related Soul Music Links


Important Information

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.