ZZ Hill - That's It! The Complete Kent Recordings 1964-1968

ZZ Hill - That's It! The Complete Kent Recordings 1964-1968 magazine cover

Out now from Kent Records a new double album offering a complete package of all ZZ Hill's Kent recordings, together for the first time.

Z.Z. Hill - That's It! The Complete Kent Recordings 1964-1968 - CDTOP2 476

Release notes (summary)

His complete recordings for the Bihari brothers’ Kent label, together on one package for the first time, including many making their CD debut.

For two decades Z Z Hill was a go-to guy for anyone who needed a shot of blues-tinged soul music. His catalogue of recordings includes many masterpieces of southern soul, his Texas roots showing through wherever he recorded. 

CD1 features all the singles Z.Z released during his time as a Kent artist, 1964 to 1968, in mono and with each tape carefully matched against an original 45 to ensure they are heard just the way they were meant to be heard.

CD2 contains the first-ever CD release of his 1968 album “A Whole Lot Of Soul”, in stereo, plus originally unissued material and tracks onto which Kent-Modern’s Joe Bihari added strings after Z.Z. started to score hits for other labels in the early 70s.

For the full release notes, album details and purchase options via Ace Records website hit up the following link...



Track Listing


  1. You Don't Love Me
  2. If I Could Do It All Over
  3. Someone to Love Me
  4. Have Mercy Someone
  5. Hey Little Girl
  6. Oh Darlin'
  7. What More
  8. That's It
  9. Happiness Is All I Need
  10. Everybody Has to Cry
  11. No More Doggin'
  12. The Kind of Love I Want
  13. I Found Love
  14. You Can't Hide a Heartache
  15. Gimme Gimme
  16. Greatest Love
  17. Where She Att
  18. Baby I'm Sorry
  19. Everybody Needs Somebody
  20. You Just Cheat and Lie
  21. What Am I Living For
  22. You're Gonna Need My Lovin'
  23. Nothing Can Change the Love I Have for You
  24. Steal Away
  25. You Got What I Need
  26. Don't Make Promises (You Can't Keep)
  27. Set Your Sights Higher

  1. When Something Is Wrong With My Baby
  2. What Am I Living For
  3. Nothing Takes the Place of You
  4. Knock On Wood
  5. Steal Away
  6. You Gonna Make Me Cry
  7. You Send Me
  8. Midnight Hour
  9. When a Man Loves a Woman
  10. Make Me Yours
  11. Nothing Can Change the Love I Have for You
  12. Greatest Love
  13. You Won't Hurt No More
  14. You've Got Me Chained to Your Love
  15. I'm Gonna Love You
  16. Please Take Me Back
  17. My Girl Has Gone Away
  18. I Need Someone (To Love Me)
  19. You Don't Love Me
  20. If I Could Do It All Over
  21. You Won't Hurt No More


  1. 7 Day Lovers

  1. Article Comments

Forum Activity

Source Advert

Source Magazine Comments

There are no comments to display.

Source Magazine - Add Your Take!

Comment on our articles via...

Join Soul Source

A free & easy soul music affair!

Get started now!
Log into Soul Source

Get full use of the magazine feature

Log in now!

Related Soul Music Links

  • Create New...

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.