Jump to content

Ready Or Not - Thom Bell's Philly Soul Arrangements & Productions 1965-1978

Ready Or Not - Thom Bell's Philly Soul Arrangements & Productions 1965-1978 magazine cover

Ready Or Not - Thom Bell's Philly Soul Arrangements & Productions 1965-1978 CDTOP 488

A recent album release from Kent Records that since it's July release has been picking up great reviews.

Release notes

Along with Kenny Gamble and Leon Huff, Thom Bell was one of the three people responsible for The Sound Of Philadelphia, a lush, orchestrated take on soul music that dominated the charts in the early to mid-70s. Using the most unusual instrumentation – harpsichords, French horns, sitars – Bell’s arrangements built the careers of the Delfonics and the Stylistics, and reinvented acts as varied as the Spinners, Dionne Warwick and Johnny Mathis.

The distinctive sound of a Thom Bell arrangement is largely down to an upbringing devoid of R&B. Growing up in a middle-class Philadelphia household, he was playing piano, drums and flugelhorn by the time he was nine. “We didn’t have any radio or anything, we were trained classical musicians,” says Bell. “From when I was five ’til I was 17, I studied two or three hours a day...

The full release notes from Bob Stanley along with images and purchase options can be had via  https://acerecords.co.uk/ready-or-not-thom-bells-philly-soul-arrangements-productions-1965-1978via 



Leaflet Preview Scans.





Track Listing

1   Here I Go Again - Archie Bell & The Drells
2   I Can't Take It - The Orlons
3   You've Been Untrue - The Delfonics
4   Look The Other Way - Lesley Gore
5   Tick-Tock - Connie Stevens
6   What I See - Three Degrees
7   Moody Woman - Jerry Butler
8   What Kind Of Lady - Dee Dee Sharp
9   Ready Or Not Here I Come (Can't Hide From Love) - The Delfonics
10  I Wanna Be A Free Girl - Dusty Springfield
11   It's The Same Old Love - The Courtship
12   People Make The World Go Round (Single edit) - The Stylistics
13   Back Stabbers - The O'Jays
14   One Man Band (Plays All Alone) - Ronnie Dyson
15   Do You Remember Yesterday - The Intruders
16   I'm Doin' Fine Now - New York City
17   Life Is A Song Worth Singing (Album version) - Johnny Mathis
18   Something For Nothing - MFSB featuring Thom Bell
19   Could It Be I'm Falling In Love - The Spinners
20   You Make Me Feel Brand New (Album version) - The Stylistics
21   Close The Door (Single edit) - Teddy Pendergrass
22   It's Gonna Take A Miracle - Laura Nyro & Labelle
23   Track Of The Cat (Album version) - Dionne Warwick


Thom Bell is on the phone from Washington state, talking about Philly soul.




  • Up vote 1

Members Comments

Recommended Comments

There are no comments to display.

  • Create New...