Jump to content

Cover Me - The Eddie Hinton Songbook - Ace Records

Followers 0
Cover Me - The Eddie Hinton Songbook - Ace Records magazine cover

Ace records have just pushed out the latest addition to their highly regarded Songwriter series. This release concerns itself with the Eddie Hinton songbook and features 24 of his works, with many making their first appearance on UK CD release. Details follow below

Cover Me - The Eddie Hinton Songbook - Ace Records

Genre: 60s Soul

Label: Ace Records

Format: CD

Catalogue Id: CDTOP 1535


Release Notes

Versions of two dozen of the finest compositions from one of Muscle Shoals’ most admired singer/songwriter/musicians of the 60s and 70s.

Atlantic Records’ Jerry Wexler said he was going to be “the next big thing” more than 40 years ago. Sadly, life dealt Eddie Hinton several poor hands in his 51 years on Earth, from a minor early 70s drugs bust that led to a premature departure from his home in Muscle Shoals to the release of a fantastic debut album in 1977 that got buried when his record label went bankrupt weeks afterwards, to a fatal heart attack in the 90s, just when he was finally beginning to achieve a long-deserved level of international recognition. No wonder he once wrote and recorded a song called ‘Hard Luck Guy’. If anyone ever earned such a soubriquet, it was Eddie Hinton....


The full release notes by Tony Rounce @TONY ROUNCE can be read via the link below along with purchase options







Track Listing

Breakfast In Bed - Dusty Springfield

Down In Texas - Oscar Toney Jr.

Cover Me - Jackie Moore

A Little Bit Salty - Bobby Womack

Sure As Sin - Candi Staton

300 Pounds Of Hongry - Tony Joe White

Masquerade - Don Varner

Always David - The Sweet Inspirations

Poor Mary Has Drowned - Brick Wall

It's All Wrong But It's Alright - Eddie Hinton

Help Me Make It (Power Of A Woman's Love) - Mink Deville

Save The Children - Cher

Every Natural Thing - Aretha Franklin

If I Had Let You In - The Box Tops

Satisfaction Guaranteed - Judy White

Standing On The Mountain - Percy Sledge

I Got The Feeling - The Amazing Rhythm Aces

Home For The Summer - The Hour Glass featuring Gregg & Duane Allman

Lay It On Me - Gwen McCrae

People In Love - Lou Johnson

Where You Come From - Bonnie Bramlett

Seventeen Year Old Girl - Mickey Buckins & The New Breed

Love Waits For No Man - Al Johnson

Where's Eddie - Lulu




Members Comments

Recommended Comments

Get involved with Soul Source

Add your comments now

Join Soul Source

A free & easy soul music affair!

Join Soul Source now!

Log in to Soul Source

Jump right back in!

Log in now!

  • Create New...

Important Information

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.