Jump to content

New Breed Workin' - Blues With A Rhythm - New Kent Cd

New Breed Workin' - Blues With A Rhythm - New Kent Cd magazine cover

A information pass on news item on this just released album from Kent

New Breed Workin' - Blues With A Rhythm


Released : End of Jan 2016

Also available via mp3 format (see web link below)



With a third of the tracks debuting here, this CD is aimed at R&B lovers looking for something new. We found a rich vein of New Orleans R&B in the AFO vaults. From that source we feature Nookie Boy’s 1962 release ‘I’ve Got A Feeling For You Baby’, Robbie Lee’s ‘Let Me Know’, which premiered on our “Gumbo Stew” CD series in the 90s, and Joan DuValle’s previously unissued ‘Lucky Girl’.

Chet “Poison” Ivey takes that Crescent City approach on ‘Now We Must Part’, a very scarce Gator 45. From the same Arock/Sylvia stable of New York come the nerve-tingling ‘Cruel World’ and a version of the Buddy Lucas-penned Drifters’ hit ‘Steamboat’, while previously unissued late 50s/early 60s blues busters by the little-known Pee Wee Foster, Cool Papa Jarvis and Big Charley & The Domans emanate from the world of Cleveland, Ohio indie blues labels. More master tape magic can be heard on Mary Johnson’s R&B dance classic ‘These Tears’, which comes with an added brass section and ...

More of the informative release notes can be read via  http://acerecords.co.uk/new-breed-workin-blues-with-a-rhythm


Preview via the very fine Juno records player




Track Listing

1. The Twitch - Danny White - Danny White
  2. My Baby's Gone - Pee Wee - Pee Wee
  3. Cruel World - Roosevelt Powers - Roosevelt Powers
  4. I Can't Even Enjoy My Home - Big Charley & The Domans - Big Charley & The Domans
  5. You Never Know - B B King - B.B. King
  6. (I Believe) Something Funny Is Going On Or Other - Bertha Tillman - Bertha Tillman
  7. Poor Boy s Song - Lord Luther - Lord Luther
  8. I've Got A Feelin For You Baby - Nookie Boy - Nookie Boy
  9. Boss Man - Dean Hawley - Deane Hawley
  10. Keep A Hold On Him - Beatrice Lee - Beatrice Lee
  11. These Tears (Brass Version) - Mary Johnson - Mary Johnson
  12. Lucky Girl - Joan Dovalle - Joan Dovalle
  13. Steamboat - Arthur Grant & The Red Shoes - Arthur Grant and the Red Shoes
  14. Workin' Man - Papa Jarvis - Papa Jarvis
  15. Real, Real Love - Ray Agee - Ray Agee
  16. What Did I Do Wrong - Ovations - The Ovations
  17. Let Me Know - Robbie Lee - Robbie Lee
  18. Breaking Hearts - Varetta & The Thomases - Varetta & The Thomases
  19. Playboy - Billy Ray - Billy Ray
  20. Yes It's You - Big Boy Groves & Little Margie - Big Boy Groves & Little Margie
  21. Big John - Richard Berry - Richard Berry
  22. Looking For My Baby - Music City Soul Brothers - Music City Soul Brothers
  23. Twistin School - Little Betty - Little Betty
  24. Now We Must Part - Chet Poison Ivey - Chet 'Poison' Ivey

Purchase via Ace website

http://acerecords.co.uk/new-breed-workin-blues-with-a-rhythm or the usual online suspects


Members Comments

Recommended Comments

Get involved with Soul Source

Add your comments/views now

Join Soul Source

A free & easy soul music affair!

Join Soul Source now!

Log in to Soul Source

Jump right back in!

Log back in to Soul Source now!

Related Soul Music Links

  • Create New...

Important Information

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.