Jump to content

New Kent Cd - Soul Superman / With A Dab Of Soul - VA (Pied Piper)


New Kent Cd - Soul Superman / With A Dab Of Soul - VA (Pied Piper) magazine cover

Another new soul cd release from Kent Records out this week. 

Soul Superman / With A Dab Of Soul - VA (Pied Piper) CDKEND 505

The cd is actually two classic Detroit soul Pied Piper connected lps served up via the one cd.

The release notes from Ady Croasdell tell the story...

The rare soul scene is overwhelmingly a 7” record-collecting world but there are a few notable exceptions. 1967 saw two Detroit-recorded LPs issued from one of the most admired production teams in the city – Pied Piper Productions.

Motown musician Jack Ashford and his business partner Shelley Haims assembled the cream of Motown’s Funk Brothers musicians for the sessions and supplied classic sophisticated soul songs for the diverse artists who were to be given a shot at the album market.

Cleveland group the Hesitations had hit with their debut 45 ‘Soul Superman’ and this success gave them a chance to expand into the album market.

Detroit singer Freddy Butler’s more sophisticated ballad-singing was seen as ripe for an LP by the team....

...songs of Jack Ashford, Lorraine Chandler, Joe Hunter, Mike Terry and Herbie Williams – coupled with the best Detroit soul arrangers and musicians – mean this really is a case of dropping the needle anywhere and finding a gem.
With such high-quality music, it was inevitable the records’ prices would rise dramatically; originals are three-figure items. Here they are remastered from tape on one easily affordable CD.

The full release notes. purchase options and more can be found on Ace Records site https://acerecords.co.uk/soul-superman-with-a-dab-of-soul

Booklet Preview

A glossy 20 page booklet featuring images and detailed info as per below





01   She Won't Come Back - The Hesitations
02   You'll Never Know - The Hesitations
03   You Can't Bypass Love - The Hesitations
04   I Believe To My Soul - The Hesitations
05   That's What Love Is - The Hesitations
06   Soul Superman - The Hesitations
07   Soul Kind Of Love - The Hesitations
08   I'm Not Built That Way - The Hesitations
09   I'll Be Right There - The Hesitations
10   Wait A Minute - The Hesitations
11   Soul Superman #2 - The Hesitations
12   Clap Your Hands - The Hesitations

13   There Was A Time - Freddy Butler
14   That's When I Need You - Freddy Butler
15   I Like Your Style - Freddy Butler
16   I Fell In Love (I Can't Help It) - Freddy Butler
17   Never Let Love Go - Freddy Butler
18   They Say I'm Afraid (Of Losing You) - Freddy Butler
19   This Thing! - Freddy Butler
20   Just Because You've Been Hurt - Freddy Butler
21   You'd Better Get Hip Girl - Freddy Butler
22   Give Me Lots Of Lovin' - Freddy Butler
23   She's Foolin' You - Freddy Butler
24   Deserted - Freddy Butler



Available now at all your usual soul stockist including your own Source Store here...



Listen: Sample #1

Listen: Sample #2


Members Comments

Recommended Comments

Great to have these two together in their best sound quality ever.

  • Thanks 1
Link to comment
Social source share

Get involved with Soul Source

Add your comments now

Join Soul Source

A free & easy soul music affair!

Join Soul Source now!

Log in to Soul Source

Jump right back in!

Log in now!

  • Create New...

Important Information

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.