Jump to content
  • Sign Up

South Texas Rhythm & Soul Revue 2 - Kent Records Album

South Texas Rhythm & Soul Revue 2 - Kent Records Album cover

Continuing the enjoyable task of informing/reporting the latest soul release news, today we have the latest from Kent Records....

Thanksgiving weekend could be said to be an apt time for the offering of a second slice of tasty Southern Texas soul and it seems Kent Records may have been thing similar as today sees the news about the release of South Texas Rhythm'n' Soul Revue - 2

Following on from the 2013 released Volume 1 of  South Texas Rhythm'n' Soul Revue, this 2015 release carries on the journey through the output of with 24 tracks on offer.



Track listing

Disc: 1

  1. Too Good To Be True - The Traits - The Traits

  2. I'm Losing You - Chet Mcdowell - Chet McDowell

  3. Half A Man - Charles Berry - Charles Berry

  4. The Bad Times Make The Good Times - Warren Storm - Warren Storm

  5. I Got A Right To Lose My Mind - Margo White - Margo White

  6. You'd Better Investigate - David King Thomas - David King Thomas

  7. T'ain't It The Truth (Remix) - Jean Knight - Jean Knight

  8. Strange Love - Eugene Gamble - Eugene Gamble

  9. You're Losing Me - Jo Jo Benson - Jo Jo Benson

  10. At Your Wedding - Jackie Paine - Jackie Paine

  11. Wish You Were Here - Ronnie Milsap - Ronnie Milsap

  12. Neighbor Neighbor - Margo White - Margo White

  13. Total Disaster - Lee Maye - Lee Maye

  14. I'm Losing You - Henry Moore - Henry Moore

  15. All About Love - Big Sam - Big Sam

  16. The Pleasure Of My Woman - Rocky Gil And The Bishops - Rocky Gil and the Bishops

  17. Please Pass The Soul - Dean Scott - Dean Scott

  18. Skid Row Blues - Jackie Paine - Jackie Paine

  19. Sick - Prince Charles - Prince Charles

  20. Good Doctor Sweet Soul - Joe Fritz - Joe Fritz

  21. Tender Loving Pain - Luvenia Lewis - Luvenia Lewis

  22. After Hour Man - Joe Medwick - Joe Medwick

  23. The Rains Came - Joe Hughes - Joe Hughes

  24. Spunky Onions - Johnny Adams - Johnny Adams



The release notes by Soul Source member Tony Rounce @TONY ROUNCEcan be read in ful on the Ace website, link follows the preview clip below...

Contained in this second various artists collection drawn from labels owned by producer Huey P Meaux are local hits, obscure releases that later became favourites an ocean away, artists whose careers spanned several decades without a national chart record and others whose time began and ended the day they cut their session for Meaux. Familiar names such as Jackie Paine and Warren Storm – both still working – feature alongside Tejano soul king Rocky Gil and veteran bluesman Joe “Papoose” Fritz. When they stood before the mic at the various studios Meaux used between New Orleans and Jackson, Mississippi they were all looking for a hit or, at least, a record that would help to keep them travelling up and down Highway 90...

available via the Ace Records web site now

Use the link below for purchase, info and samples




  1. Article Comments

Forum Activity

Members Comments

Recommended Comments

There are no comments to display.

Comment now!

Comments are members only

Sign Up

Join Soul Source - Free & easy!

Sign up now!

Sign in

Sign in here.

Sign in now!

Related Soul Music Links


Important Information

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.