A Steinways Pictorial

To further muddy the waters with regard to the Steinways touring the UK as the FABULOUS PLATTERS in 67 ....

The real group had toured the UK 3 times between 1955 & 1960 (they toured Europe in 1958 too, but I have no knowledge of any UK shows that year). For the vast majority of the shows during those tours, the billboards had them shown as the FABULOUS PLATTERS ....

As the Glories were active from 1967, I guess that UK tour was what must have finished the Steinways off. It must have discouraged the old guys in the group & hastened them quitting the music biz.  

PlattersNewcstlGig56.jpg

Edited by Roburt
Social source share

A few more related bits ...

Seems when the real group toured here in the 50's, they were billed as the Fabulous Platters but when they got back to the States after their 1958 trip to Europe, the ads called them the Flying Platters (I guess coz it was unusual for a black group to be flying all around Europe & then to & from the States as well). At that time the publicity for their trip & for a following stint at the Flamingo Hotel in Vegas was in full swing, the Laddins were doing well too & had just been signed to top booking agency, Universal Attractions.

The 1st of their Oliver 45's (the biggie) got quite a bit of coverage at the time of it's release, especially in US music trade mags. Seems the publishing company (Saturday Music) put quite a bit of effort into pushing the 45 too. Their 2nd Oliver release (in Oct 66) actually got a lot more review space in trade mags than their 1st effort.

LaddinsPlatters58.jpg

Steinways66.jpg

CashBox45sOct66b.jpg

• Up vote 3
Social source share

The Laddins were an all male line-up for most of their life except for a brief period and one 45 when Frankie Gearing joined.

Laddins biography courtesy of Andrew Hamilton......