Jump to content

New CD - For Dancers Forty - Kent Cd Out Now

A new cd release from Kent.

For Dancers Forty - Various Artists  - CDKEND 514

For Dancers Forty revisits the US Modern and Kent labels that started it all off

The Lp version was released last month, but this the cd version differs a great deal, from than the vinyl version, with only 3 tracks being found on both

As always, the cd comes with an informative 20-page glossy leaflet, with photos and notes by Ady Croasdell (see below for preview scans)

Release notes from Ace Records follow below

Release notes

Kent Records are commemorating 40 years since the LP Kent 001 “For Dancers Only” hit the record shops of 1982 with resounding success. Our new CD “For Dancers Forty” revisits the US Modern and Kent labels that started it all off.

We have already released a “For Dancers Forty” LP but though the compilations share the same celebratory title, only three tracks feature on both. We didn’t want to neglect our digital customers at the expense of the vinyl hounds.

The collection represents the breadth of label-owners Saul, Jules, Joe and Lester Bihari’s recordings, featuring stompers, Rhythm & Blues rockers, girl soul grooves group harmony and sublime ballads.

Several tracks are new to Kent CDs. There are previously unheard 1966 soul recording from 50s Modern R&B artists Aaron Collins and his siters The Teen Queens, guitarist/songwriter Arthur Adams and soul-crooner Billy Watkins. Kent stalwarts Mary Love and Z Z Hill are featured, musically and on the front cover, with a recently discovered studio shot. As with Kent 001 we feature the R&B sounds of the label from T-Bone Walker, Little Joe Blue, Flash Terry and the mighty B B King. There are underplayed tracks by Jeanette Jones, Lowell Fulson and Tommy Youngblood – whose moody LP-only track ‘Tobacco Road North’ has been sampled by US rappers.

As ever on our rare soul scene, it is the lesser-known artists who we spotlight - there are largely unheard tracks by Teddy Reynolds (from a very obscure Twist LP), King Solomon and a plaintive ballad from Beatrice Lee.  Northern Soul devotees will enjoy The Sweethearts’ Motownesque ‘No More Tears’, Jimmy Bee’s new and improved ‘Wanting You’ with added chorus, which has a digital debut and Clay Hammond’s cult mover ‘You Brought It All On Yourself’ reappears after several years absence. The funk-edged crowd get the first re-release of Foxfire’s manic take on Fulson’s ‘Tramp’, and new to Kent are Larry (Perault) & Tommy (Bush) doing a version of Shorty Long’s ‘Here Comes The Judge’.

Four decades of supplying soul and still so much more to come; here’s to the artists, writers, musicians and producers – CHEERS!

Ady Croasdell


Booklet Preview Scans





Track Listing

Side 1
01 Satisfied Feeling - Mary Love
02 You'd Be Good For Me - Jeanette Jones
03 Gonna Put It On Your Mind - Arthur Adams
04 Tobacco Road North - Tommy Youngblood
05 Jealous Woman - T-Bone Walker
06 Walk The Chalk Line - Aaron Collins & The Teen Queens
07 I've Got Papers On You Baby - B.B. King
08 You Changed Me - Teddy Reynolds & The Twisters
09 Wanting You - Jimmy Bee
10 That's It - Z.Z. Hill
11 Push Me - Lowell Fulson
12 Here Comes The Judge - Larry & Tommy
13 Tramp - Foxfire featuring Johnny Adams
14 Freedom And Justice - Pace-Setters
15 Jimmy's Special - Little Joe Blue
16 Remove My Doubts - Stacy Johnson
17 You Brought It All On Yourself - Clay Hammond
18 It's Crazy Baby - Ike & Tina Turner
19 On My Way Back Home - Flash Terry & His Orch
20 Mr Bad Luck - King Solomon
21 Mr Bus Driver - The Teen Queens
22 No More Tears - The Sweethearts
23 Help Me - Beatrice Lee
24 I'll Let Nothing Come Between Us - Billy Watkins


In the shops now, including our own Source Store - Tap to view For Dancers Forty CD Store page

Listen: Sample #1

Listen: Sample #2

  • Up vote 1

Members Comments

Recommended Comments

The CD is brilliant, with the Billy Watkins song especially becoming an instant classic for me.















Edited by Thinksmart
  • Up vote 1
  • Thanks 1
Link to comment
Social source share

Get involved with Soul Source

Add your comments now

Join Soul Source

A free & easy soul music affair!

Join Soul Source now!

Log in to Soul Source

Jump right back in!

Log in now!

  • Create New...