Jump to content

Northern Soul Weekender: The Original Sound Of Northern Soul Album Out Now

Followers 0
Northern Soul Weekender: The Original Sound Of Northern Soul Album Out Now magazine cover

Details of a new comp just released from Charly Records 'Club Soul' department titled... 'Northern Soul Weekender: The Original Sound Of Northern Soul'

This comp is almost very much as you would expect given the title and the sub-title - 'Russ Winstanley presents the Ultimate Weekender'  and of course its out just in time for the Xmas shoppers!

The Track listing follow below, its available now via vinyl, mp3 and and cd format

Preview from Juno Records Player 



1.    Sidney Barnes - "I Hurt On The Other Side"
2.    The Ad Libs - "You'll Always Be In Style"
3.    The Mayfield Singers - "Don't Start None"
4.    Willie Parker - "I've Got To Fight It"
5.    The Sharpees - "Take Me To Your Leader"
6.    Charles Lamont - "I've Got To Keep Movin'"
7.    Big Daddy Rogers - "I'm A Big Man"
8.    Ann Sexton - "I Still Love You"
9.    Joe Tex - "Under Your Powerful Love"
10.    Loleatta Holloway - "Mother Of Shame"
11.    The Ohio Players - "Love Slipped Through My Fingers"
12.    Sir Joe - "Nobody Beats My Love"
13.    Sam Dees - "Lonely For You Baby"
14.    Ruby Andrews - "Just Loving You"
15.    Rita & The Tiaras - "Gone With The Wind Is My Love"
16.    The Valentines - "Breakaway"
17.    Big John Hamilton - "Go Ahead On"
18.    Little Richie - "Just Another Heartache"
19.    Pat Brown - "The Good Got To Suffer For The Bad"
20.    Jerry Williams - "If You Ask Me (Because I Love You)"
21.    P.P Arnold - "Everything's Gonna Be Alright"
22.    Marion Sodd - "Permanent Vacation"
23.    Joseph Moore - "I Still Can't Get You"
24.    Ellie Greenwich - "Baby"
25.    The Ringleaders - "Baby, What Has Happened To Our Love"
26.    Donna King - "Take Me Home"
27.    Ruby Winters - "Better"





Members Comments

Recommended Comments

They've recycled the old Spark LP photo.

Tracklist is slightly more adventurous than I would have expected.

Link to comment
Social source share

I can just imagine Sir Joe being played at Butlins......not.  I bet the sleeve notes make interesting reading.

The Big John Hamilton is fantastic.....Andy Dyson spin.

Link to comment
Social source share

How on Earth can they use "original sound" and Winstanley" on the cover. Do ANY of the tracks featured have any connection whatsoever to those two terms ?.

Edited by Kegsy
Link to comment
Social source share

Get involved with Soul Source

Add your comments now

Join Soul Source

A free & easy soul music affair!

Join Soul Source now!

Log in to Soul Source

Jump right back in!

Log in now!

  • Create New...

Important Information

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.