The Superlatives, 'i Still Love You'. Female Backing Singer, Who Is She?

Guest Bob Monkhouse

Guest Bob Monkhouse

Ever since I first heard this tune I have wondered who the female backing singer on the tune is.If you listen at 1m28s she holds an incredible note for nearly 10 seconds.Could anyone tell me who she is and any information about her.I've messaged Paul Kyser via here but I'm not sure if he's active or picks messages up.Thanks to anyone who can shed light on this.Bob Monkhouse.

Social source share

Guest Bob Monkhouse

You may be right but it seems a really high note for a male voice.It'll probably be one of those mysteries of life I'll never get the answer to.Thanks for your input.Bob

Social source share

Guest Bob Monkhouse

I think so but I'm no expert.A lot of all male groups used female backing singers though so, just because The Superlatives were an all male group it doesn't follow naturally that they didn't use female backing singers at times.

Social source share

I think so but I'm no expert.A lot of all male groups used female backing singers though so, just because The Superlatives were an all male group it doesn't follow naturally that they didn't use female backing singers at times.

That's true, although more specifically in the studio (rather than live ... although you're obviously talking about a studio recording here). I'm still not sure it's a woman's voice though and the lead tenor is unnaturally high pre-falsetto.

Social source share

Ever since I first heard this tune I have wondered who the female backing singer on the tune is.If you listen at 1m28s she holds an incredible note for nearly 10 seconds.Could anyone tell me who she is and any information about her.I've messaged Paul Kyser via here but I'm not sure if he's active or picks messages up.Thanks to anyone who can shed light on this.Bob Monkhouse.

The Superlatives were an all male group from New Jersey:

St. Julian (pee wee) Bonaparte (lead)

David Jones (first tenor)