This weeks lunacy

Vadnochka

Lol… you got a top hat for that one…

I guess after all is said two things stand out for me, obviously the price but if you Had known and danced to that track for 20 years would you really wanna shell out that much dosh when you could get so much new stuff you had never heard b4? 

I guess so in this case, pretty boring though… but there are a few oldies I’d like again, June Jackson and half a dozen others for one 😞 

Edited by Mal C
Social source share

Hi Haighy,

I agree with your comment, i am not technically a record collector or a DJ but i have paid £500 thereabouts a couple of times (in my lifetime) for records just because i happen to love them and there is something special to me about owning the original of that particular record - i count these particular records i need to own on one hand. I now really just buy cheap records and re-issues - As i am poor :( 

Just curious though as to why you felt owning that record was worth paying that price?

When you get it do you play it?, store it? look at it? or is it because you are the owner of something that is rare and you own something that others want to own? or is it for investment? or ALL/some of the above or other reasons?.

As i said just curious.

Thankyou 😉 

• Up vote 1
Social source share

Quite true folks - Price paid on specific 45's is a matter between the buyer / seller - So many sounds on Discogs appear to be priced on an opportunistic high basis and stick around for ages if not forever - also agree on Paris - bought one from Steve Kennedy for 4/500 back in the 90's - got it home and thought - 'Why ?' - I could have gone home with John & Weirdest or Admirations (Peaches) - Sold the Paris to Chaddy so made a profit soon after.

My main point on these threads is about the drag factor when numerous copies suddenly appear in the wake of a big ticket price being achieved on any listing now that it becomes general knowledge almost immediately.